Question on owning Multiple CCW Permits and moving across states
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Question on owning Multiple CCW Permits and moving across states

This is a discussion on Question on owning Multiple CCW Permits and moving across states within the Concealed Carry Discussion forums, part of the Main Category category; I recently moved to Oregon from Michigan and had a CPL in Michigan. Oregon is a strange state in that ...

Default Question on owning Multiple CCW Permits and moving across states

I recently moved to Oregon from Michigan and had a CPL in Michigan. Oregon is a strange state in that they don't honor any other state license. I plan on applying for my Oregon license in the next couple of weeks because I am now a resident of Oregon.
    I travel to Washington State often, which honors a Michigan License, but not an Oregon license (probably some strange border feud going on).

So my question is, Does moving to Oregon invalidate my Michigan CPL, which is honored in Washington?
    Put another way, by obtaining an Oregon license, am I no longer allowed to enter Washington with a Concealed Weapon even though I have a Michigan Permit?

Your thoughts and comments are appreciated.

Thanks,
    E

As long as your Michigan permit remains valid in Michigan, it will be valid in Washington, whether or not your are still a resident of Michigan. Washington also issues CPLs to non residents. Just go to the nearest police/sheriff department in Washington, pay $55.25 (it might have gone up), get fingerprinted and within 90 days they will mail you a CPL. Very simple application.
    Element of Surprise: a mythical element that many believe has the same affect upon criminals that Kryptonite has upon Superman. Amerika: a place where the serfs are afraid of the action the police may take against them for perfectly legal behavior.