CCW grace period
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31
Like Tree3Likes

CCW grace period

This is a discussion on CCW grace period within the Concealed Carry Discussion forums, part of the Main Category category; Curious how many of you have a grace period or not when your permit expires. I have been told we ...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    2,539

    Default CCW grace period

    Curious how many of you have a grace period or not when your permit expires. I have been told we have no grace period and I thought we used to and this is my 5th renewal. They may have changed things recently and I wasn't aware. One can't reapply more than 30 days prior to renewal and it could take up to 60 days to get it renewed so that could leave a large gap of inability to carry. I don't live in a high crime area so I am not worried but I think they should change things so people can remain armed while application is in process.
    "Those who would trade liberty for security, deserves neither liberty nor security."
    "The original point and click interface was a Smith & Wesson".

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    6,111

    Default

    In Washington it is 90 days grace period to pay the lower renewal fee without a penalty. Beyond 90 days there is a late renewal fee.

    Also, the grace period is 2 years to avoid having your firearm forfeited if you are convicted of carrying without a license.
    Element of Surprise: a mythical element that many believe has the same affect upon criminals that Kryptonite has upon Superman. Amerika: a place where the serfs are afraid of the action the police may take against them for perfectly legal behavior.

  3. #3
    Treo's Avatar
    Treo is offline Bullet Proof
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Colorado Rocky Mountain High
    Posts
    3,898

    Default

    In Colorado you have 120 days and they send you a notification 6 months prior to your expiration date
    See, it's mumbo jumbo like that and skinny little lizards like you thinking they the last dragon that gives Kung Fu a bad name.
    http://www.gunrightsmedia.com/ Internet forum dedicated to second amendment

  4. #4
    WB9IIE's Avatar
    WB9IIE is offline Master of Poverty Knob
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Soverign State of Poverty Knob near Tennessee
    Posts
    200

    Default

    Tennessee -
    Renewal Information:
    You can renew your handgun carry permit up to six (6) months before your expiration date by completing an application and paying the $50.00 renewal fee. You may renew in person at any full service driver services center.

    You can renew your handgun carry permit up to six (6) months past the expiration date by completing an application and paying the $50.00 renewal fee. You may not legally carry a weapon while your permit has expired until you receive your new permit.

    If your permit has been expired more than six (6) months past the renewal date you will need to start the complete process again. This includes completing a handgun safety course, paying the $115 fee, being fingerprinted and undergoing a background check.
    Let's hear it for Gun Free Zones... Public places where the criminal has a monopoly
    on self defense. - Gary Nelson 2012

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Madison, AL
    Posts
    5,086

    Default

    I'm not 100% positive, but I don't think there's any grace period in Alabama. However, issuance is instantaneous. You walk into the Sheriff's office, hand the receptionist your expired (or soon to be expired) permit, lay down $15 bucks, and after about two minutes of a cursory warrants/background check, you walk out with your fresh permit in-hand.

    When I convinced my wife to get "papered," it just so happened that it was on our Anniversary. That was 9 or 10 years ago. Now we always have something to do together on our Anniversary, and if I ever forget that date, I'll guaran-damn-tee ya there'll be no grace period for that!

    Blues
    I pray for peace. Peace and justice. If we can't have both, I choose justice.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    6,111

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BluesStringer View Post
    When I convinced my wife to get "papered," it just so happened that it was on our Anniversary.
    Haha! Did you get her micro-chipped too?
    Element of Surprise: a mythical element that many believe has the same affect upon criminals that Kryptonite has upon Superman. Amerika: a place where the serfs are afraid of the action the police may take against them for perfectly legal behavior.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Madison, AL
    Posts
    5,086

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NavyLCDR View Post
    Haha! Did you get her micro-chipped too?
    HA! Actually, I didn't really need to get her "papered" as she came with the highest pedigree I've ever umm...laid my hands on! LOL

    As to micro-chipping....No need. If I lose track of her, I just follow all the whistles and coyote-howls. Works every time!

    Blues
    I pray for peace. Peace and justice. If we can't have both, I choose justice.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    2,539

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Treo View Post
    In Colorado you have 120 days and they send you a notification 6 months prior to your expiration date
    Yeah, they were supposed to send me a notification too but the excuse was they were so backlogged....don't know if that's a good thing or bad.
    "Those who would trade liberty for security, deserves neither liberty nor security."
    "The original point and click interface was a Smith & Wesson".

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    2,539

    Default

    Pennsylvania it's 20.00 for 5 years and permit expires on on day printed on card and if 60 days beyond expiration you have not renewed you will be treated like a new applicant and have to start all over. Fortunately the cost is the same and no firearm training or fingerprinting is required but it takes much longer to get approved. There are 3 methods to apply for renewals; email, snail mail and in person. Send or bring your app with copy of DL and current CCW Permit and it usually takes up to 30 days but the last few years I've been hearing 45 days to receive your notice of approval/denial in the mail. I guess CCW is catching on like the flu here.
    "Those who would trade liberty for security, deserves neither liberty nor security."
    "The original point and click interface was a Smith & Wesson".

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    48

    Default

    Minnesota has no grace period and they DO NOT send you notice. It's up to you to KNOW when it's about to expire.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •