Conceal carry and aggressive dogs.
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree27Likes

Conceal carry and aggressive dogs.

This is a discussion on Conceal carry and aggressive dogs. within the Concealed Carry Discussion forums, part of the Main Category category; Hey yall, I'm new to this foum, but I had an incident yesterday and I thought that y'all would have ...

Default Conceal carry and aggressive dogs.

Hey yall,
    I'm new to this foum, but I had an incident yesterday and I thought that y'all would have the best insight for me. So, I live just outside Houston, TX, and was out for a run with my dog yesterday. He's about 100lbs, and is very well trained. While we were on our run, a German Sheppard, who was loose, came running across the street and attacked us. He bit my dog a few times, but luckily, we're both ok.

UNFORTUNATELY, this is the one day that I didn't have my weapon on me, since I normally run with it. Does anyone know if it is legal for me to shoot an attacking dog on the street in my neighborhood in Houston, TX. The best I could do without a gun was kick him a few times, but if I had it...can I use it?

Looking forward to your responses!! Thanks!

~Blondie

Blondie

Usacarry.com had a thread much like this. The legalities can be more state specific, BUT the question would probably rest on you feeling threatened. Your dog was probably acting in your defense, so as you described the situation. I would have felt threatened if I were you.

At the very least you probably have a civil case for your dog's vet bills.

A dog (especially a known breed) used for protection has the ability to cause you SERIOUS harm if it attacks. Your state probably has specific laws listed.

Skot Kimray is offline Chronic fence rider