Have a question? - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22
Like Tree5Likes

Have a question?

This is a discussion on Have a question? within the Concealed Carry Discussion forums, part of the Main Category category; Mississippi Law 45-9-101 (6) “states the Department of Public Safety shall, within forty five (45) days after the date ...

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    53

    Default

    Mississippi Law 45-9-101 (6) “states the Department of Public Safety shall, within forty five (45) days after the date of receipt of the items listed in subsection (5) of this section:
    Issue the license: or
    Deny the application based solely on the ground that the applicant fails to meet the requirements.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Gaston South Carolina
    Posts
    185

    Default

    Means business days mon. - Thur.
    A Body Piercing
    Saved My Life
    <(((><

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    5,600

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ricoross View Post
    Mississippi Law 45-9-101 (6) “states the Department of Public Safety shall, within forty five (45) days after the date of receipt of the items listed in subsection (5) of this section:
    Issue the license: or
    Deny the application based solely on the ground that the applicant fails to meet the requirements.
    Sorry. I posted information from an out of date source. You are correct, according to LexisNexis the code now says 45 days. I should have known better then to post from a .com unofficial website. Normally, for periods of time specified in law, >10 days means calendar days unless specifically stated otherwise.

    Quote Originally Posted by n4sxx View Post
    Means business days mon. - Thur.
    What is the source of your information? For example MS Code also says this:
    " 45-9-101. License to carry stun gun, concealed pistol or revolver

    (1) (a) The Department of Public Safety is authorized to issue licenses to carry stun guns, concealed pistols or revolvers to persons qualified as provided in this section. Such licenses shall be valid throughout the state for a period of five (5) years from the date of issuance. Any person possessing a valid license issued pursuant to this section may carry a stun gun, concealed pistol or concealed revolver."

    So, according to your theory, a MS Concealed Pistol License would be valid for 5 years worth of only business days, Mondays-Thursdays. Exact same statute. If 45 days means 11 weeks (according to you), then the 5 years expiration date would stretch out to something like 8.5 years!

    MS Code also says this:
    "(9) Within thirty (30) days after the changing of a permanent address, or within thirty (30) days after having a license lost or destroyed, the licensee shall notify the Department of Public Safety in writing of such change or loss. Failure to notify the Department of Public Safety pursuant to the provisions of this subsection shall constitute a noncriminal violation with a penalty of Twenty-five Dollars ($ 25.00) and shall be enforceable by a summons."

    So, according to your theory, I move April 1st, I don't have to inform the DPS of my address change until something like May 24th, rather than 30 days = I month in the statute.

    Unless specified otherwise, count 45 days on the calendar, that's their time limit. If they don't issue the license within that 45 days, then you will have to file a motion for a Writ of Mandamus in a court with jurisdiction to order the DPS to issue the license, which would probably take several more weeks.
    Element of Surprise: a mythical element that many believe has the same affect upon criminals that Kryptonite has upon Superman. Amerika: a place where the serfs are afraid of the action the police may take against them for perfectly legal behavior.

  4. #14
    HK Shooter is offline HK Shooter
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Deep South
    Posts
    7

    Default

    It seems to be very simple and straight forward to me. The Mississippi Statue states that within 45 days they shall issue or deny.

    My permit appeared in my mailbox on day 43 but, the issue date on the permit was on the 45th day.

    As a matter of prudence, and avoiding becoming an accidental felon, I waited until the issue date before I carried concealed.

  5. #15
    HK Shooter is offline HK Shooter
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Deep South
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kelcarry View Post
    ....We are talking "government"--time estimates mean "we have no darn idea and will get to it whenever".
    The Mississippi Statue requires that the Department of Public Safety (State Patrol) issue or deny the permit within 45 days and there is no language about weekends, holidays, whatever. It is reasonable to believe that the top law enforcement agency in the State complies with the Laws of the State and i believe that they do.

    To the OP ... if you have been waiting well beyond the 45 days, it is reasonable to believe that the response may have been lost in the mail and it would not be unreasonable to call the DPS and inquire.

    Good luck!

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    3

    Default Derringers

    Does anyone carry a derringer for concealed carry? I was thinning about getting one. I usually carry a 380 or a 38.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    St. Louis County, MO
    Posts
    3,445

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gtalkalot24 View Post
    Does anyone carry a derringer for concealed carry? I was thinning about getting one. I usually carry a 380 or a 38.
    Welcome to this forum from Missouri...I think you should direct your question to the right place and people here are talking about issue time instead of a gun for cc? Someone here will direct you to the right place if you wait awhile...
    "Don't let the door hit ya where the dawg shudda bit ya!"
    G'day and Glock
    GATEWAY SWIFT WING ST. LOUIS

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    158

    Default

    I think he saw the title of the thread - "Have a Question?" and went ahead and posted his question. No harm for the misunderstanding.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    St. Louis County, MO
    Posts
    3,445

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by USN2Pulpit View Post
    I think he saw the title of the thread - "Have a Question?" and went ahead and posted his question. No harm for the misunderstanding.
    I agree so I am just directing him to the right topic/post somewhere. He is OK... The title is a bit confusing because it look and sounds like a "free-for-all" no direction sort of topic..just saying...
    "Don't let the door hit ya where the dawg shudda bit ya!"
    G'day and Glock
    GATEWAY SWIFT WING ST. LOUIS

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Thank you for the info. And I did just see the title and went for it.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •