This is a discussion on Best state permits? within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Main Category category; NJ resident. I have my Fl. permit and I'm waiting on my NH non resident (should be soon ) any ...
NJ resident. I have my Fl. permit and I'm waiting on my NH non resident (should be soon ) any other states worth looking into? or do you think I'm good with what I have. Not looking to go crazy but I want to be LEGAL if I travel. Thanks in advance.
Depending on where you travel, you might be interested in a UT permit too. You pick up a couple more states in the south and west that aren't covered by FL. It's relatively inexpensive at about $65 and it's good for 5 years.
An armed society is a polite society.
And what's wrong with the Penn CCW? Cheap enough, easy enough, and right next door to NJ??
PA 18 ss 6109
(ix) A resident of another state who does not possess a current license or permit or similar document to carry a firearm issued by that state if a license is provided for by the laws of that state, as published annually in the Federal Register by the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms of the Department of the Treasury under 18 U.S.C. § 921(a)(19) (relating to definitions).
I think the Florida permit already gives you everything New Hampshire does. Utah will also give you and Minnesota, but I think that's it.
Connecticutt is a shall issue state and you get your permit with in a couple of weeks,Florida doesn't require a non resident to have live fire now.Florida accepts a Hunter safety class and a Utah class.I would get a PA LTC from Centre County by mail right now since the new law requires you to go in person starting 2011.Maine is also done by mail.
MD Safety Video since it was put out by the MD SP. FL say it does not count as it does not include Live Fire. I think that it is "assumed" that all hunter safety classes have live fire portions which is why FL will accept that class. Of the 15 state DNR sites I checked, only 2 did NOT include live fire.