Commercial vehicle CWP
Like Tree4Likes
  • 3 Post By NavyLCDR
  • 1 Post By sdprof

Commercial vehicle CWP

This is a discussion on Commercial vehicle CWP within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Main Category category; I drive a Commercial vehicle (18 wheeler) I'm a SC resident. I have a South Carolina and Utah CWP is ...

Blog Entries

Default Commercial vehicle CWP

I drive a Commercial vehicle (18 wheeler) I'm a SC resident. I have a South Carolina and Utah CWP is it ok to carry my hand gun in my Commercial vehicle(18 wheeler) in South Carolina ,Georgia and Florida?

contact the state in which you got the ccw and they will tell you. as for having it in the cmv, i dont thin their is any laws against it but your company will most likely be against the idea.

Regardless of state laws, DOT regs forbid carrying a gun in your commercial vehicle. You would lose your CDL if caught.

Quote Originally Posted by somewhatliterate View Post
    Regardless of state laws, DOT regs forbid carrying a gun in your commercial vehicle. You would lose your CDL if caught.
    This is true and should not be! My husband drives (no longer does overnights) but most of these drivers do and should be able to protect themselves. I think it was just last year maybe 2 years ago a trucker was robbed and shot while parked to sleep. Not sure what supposed reasoning the DOT has for it but it's wrong imo.

Most major carriers forbid it anyway. I would rather make the decision myself to save my life and lose my job if it came down to it. None of DOT's bizzness.