First firearm purchase in Washington...
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

First firearm purchase in Washington...

This is a discussion on First firearm purchase in Washington... within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Main Category category; First off let me say that i am delighted to have found this wonderful forum. This is my my first ...

Default First firearm purchase in Washington...

First off let me say that i am delighted to have found this wonderful forum. This is my my first post, and i am new to firearms in general.

I have just moved to Washington, after living in NYC for 22 years. I have always wanted to, but assumed due to the nature of NYC's extremely strict gun laws, that i would never own a gun, and the closest i would get would be going to a shooting range in manhattan.
    But anyways, im here now in a very gun friendly state, and i cant get the idea of owning my first gun out of my head! heres my question:

I've read tons of articles and forum post all over the internet, yet i am still confused on how i would go about getting a firearm here in WA. Im going to be very specific so i can get accurate advice.

I have lived here 44 days. I have just yesterday ( my 43rd day here ) gotten my State ID. I am 22. I have no felonies, my slate is clean, i have never been arrested, etc.

I have been told and read that i must be a resident for 90 days prior to purchasing a gun. What constitutes as being a resident? I moved here with the intentions of living here permanantly, i have changed my address with the USPS a while ago, but i am not yet listed as a tenant ( will get that done in the next days ).
    Does a USPS change of address satisfy towards proof of residency, or that i have been here or plan on living here permanantly or at least for 6 months?

Had i gotten my state ID when i had arrived, i would be halfway towards that 90 day rule. But since i havent, will i really have to wait until November 26 to get my gun?