Frangible bullet reload question
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By FrangibleBullets.Com

Frangible bullet reload question

This is a discussion on Frangible bullet reload question within the Handgun Ammunition and Reloading forums, part of the Handguns category; I purchased 1000 frangible bullets recently. I'm fairly new to pistol reloading, but had reloaded 200 Ranier bullets (155 gr.) ...

Default Frangible bullet reload question

I purchased 1000 frangible bullets recently. I'm fairly new to pistol reloading, but had reloaded 200 Ranier bullets (155 gr.) prior and they all shot with no jams. All the factory loads I have shot have cycled perfectly. My gun is a SR40 Ruger and I have shot about 300 rounds through it since I purchased it. I'm using 5 gr. of Winchester 231 powder with Winchester primers and the frangible bullets are 125 gr. Out of 50 rounds of frangibles, I had 2 jams and the rest worked fine. I have the newest Lee reloading book which has data for frangible bullets, so that's where I decided 5 gr. of 231 powder would be fine. The only thing I've seen where maybe I went wrong was with the crimp die. Maybe I crimped it a bit much? The Lee book mentions using a light crimp. Any ideas would be helpful. Thanks in advance.