Question about vehicle handgun storage on a college campus.

Question about vehicle handgun storage on a college campus.

This is a discussion on Question about vehicle handgun storage on a college campus. within the Massachusetts Discussion and Firearm News forums, part of the Firearms Discussion by State category; I recently got my Class A LTC without restriction and have been thoroughly learning what and where I cannot bring/do ...

Default Question about vehicle handgun storage on a college campus.

I recently got my Class A LTC without restriction and have been thoroughly learning what and where I cannot bring/do with my gun.

With that said; I am a college student and I commute daily to a college campus in Boston.

Here is my issue; I got my license to carry because of a incident that occurred on my hourly commute into the city. Long story short, i had my drivers side window and taillight smashed in with a mag lite flashlight during a issue of road rage in which my music was annoying another driver during gridlock.

Because of this and the fact that it had been something i had been procrastinating over for awhile I got my Class A LTC to help protect myself when out in public (especially my commute).

I know that I am allowed to have a loaded weapon on my person within my vehicle as long as I am in direct control of it. I do this for my entire commute, but when I reach the set of lights before the college campus I immediately unload my weapon, put a trigger lock on, and secure it under my seat in a steel case with two 3/8 inch steal cables wrapped around the base plates of the seat.

I do this because it is my understanding that I cannot posses a weapon on my person while on school grounds. (see section j linked below).

M.G.L. - Chapter 269, Section 10