This is a discussion on Pistol transfer help! within the Michigan Discussion and Firearm News forums, part of the Firearms Discussion by State category; Hello all, been a while since I posted. I purchased a pistol with my CPL that I am holding for ...
Hello all, been a while since I posted. I purchased a pistol with my CPL that I am holding for my buddy. He doens't have his CPL so we just want to transfer it to him when he gets his purchase permit.
My question is, do I also need to fill out the RI-60 (I beleive its called) along with obtaining the purchase permit he gets? Or is there anything else that I need? Any help is much appreciated!!
No I bought it for myself, but he wants to purchase it from me. I am not giving it to him as a gift or anything. Sorry I didn't mention that.
See, it's mumbo jumbo like that and skinny little lizards like you thinking they the last dragon that gives Kung Fu a bad name.
http://www.gunrightsmedia.com/ Internet forum dedicated to second amendment
We are both legally allowed to posses firearms, I just wanted to know if there were other forms I needed to fill out. I just want to make sure I'm doing things correctly.
(5) If an individual purchases or otherwise
acquires a pistol, the seller shall fill out the
license forms describing the pistol, together with
the date of sale or acquisition, and sign his or
her name in ink indicating that the pistol was
sold to or otherwise acquired by the purchaser.
The purchaser shall also sign his or her name in
ink indicating the purchase or other acquisition
of the pistol from the seller. The seller may
retain a copy of the license as a record of the
transaction. The purchaser shall receive 3
copies of the license. The purchaser shall return
2 copies of the license to the licensing authority
within 10 days after the date the pistol is
purchased or acquired. The return of the copies
to the licensing authority may be made in person
or may be made by first-class mail or certified
mail sent within the 10-day period to the proper
address of the licensing authority. A purchaser
who fails to comply with the requirements of this
subsection is responsible for a state civil
infraction and may be fined not more than
$250.00. If a purchaser is found responsible for
a state civil infraction under this subsection, the
court shall notify the department of state police
of that determination.
The RI-60 form appears to be only required if sold to a CPL holder. I am not a lawyer, and I am not from Michigan.
Thank you sir. I appreciate it.
Just move to a state that is more pro gun. That would make it easy.
“An armed society is a polite society.”
OK, this how it works.... You bought the firearm for your self, YOU filled out a 4473 and answerd all the question that you are buying it for yourself. Now that your buddy wants to Buy it from you He needs to get a PP from his local sheriff's office or Local PD.. They you USE THE PP for transfer. RI-60 is for CPL to CPL..
A straw purchase is a situation in which a buyer uses an intermediary (a "straw purchaser") through which to acquire one or more firearms from a licensed firearms dealer. The purpose is to hide the identity of the true purchaser or ultimate possessor of the firearm(s). Straw purchases and theft are the most common ways that prohibited people, such as convicted felons, obtain firearms.
In the United States, straw purchases are a felony violation of the Gun Control Act of 1968 for both the straw purchaser and ultimate possessor.
As long as his friend gets PP then straw purchase is now moot...