How soon after qualification do I need to go to Sheriff's Office?
Results 1 to 5 of 5

How soon after qualification do I need to go to Sheriff's Office?

This is a discussion on How soon after qualification do I need to go to Sheriff's Office? within the Missouri Discussion and Firearm News forums, part of the Firearms Discussion by State category; Hey all, New to the forum here, I had a few questions about timing. I am a resident of St. ...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default How soon after qualification do I need to go to Sheriff's Office?

    Hey all,
    New to the forum here, I had a few questions about timing. I am a resident of St. Louis County and would like to get my CCW soon, but I'll be at college, away from home, starting in late august. There are a few possibilities here, and I want to know which are feasible. 1. Take the CCW class before the end of the month, take paperwork to sheriff's office, (presumably) get approved...then what? If the sheriff sends a note to my home saying I've been approved, and I'm out of town, will that approval "expire" if I don't get actually get my endorsement within a few days? 2. Take my CCW class before the end of August, get certification from instructor, then wait until I'm home for the winter, so I'll be around when the approval arrives in the mail. Both of these revolve around the certificate not having an "expiration date"-- that is, if I qualified in August, will they still accept that qualification in November/December?
    Thanks in advance for your help! If anything is unclear, let me know and I'll try to clarify.
    Ben

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Elsberry,Missouri
    Posts
    8

    Default

    after the class has been taken you have exactly 1 yr from the date of class to get it to the sheriffs office and then 7 days to get to DMV once you sign the paperwork.

    Be safe out there.
    Si vis pacem, para bellum :"If you wish for peace, prepare for war."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Thanks for your reply! Just wanted to make sure I wasn't going to end up making myself or anyone else do things twice. Just to clarify; if the mail from the sheriff's office saying I've been "approved" sits on my kitchen counter for 2 or 3 weeks while I'm away, that's fine; the 7 day limit only kicks in once I've actually signed the certificate at the sheriff's office? Thanks again for your help!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    149

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default

    D'oh! Not sure how I missed that.
    Thanks.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •