Clark County Handgun Registration - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Clark County Handgun Registration

This is a discussion on Clark County Handgun Registration within the Nevada Discussion and Firearm News forums, part of the Firearms Discussion by State category; The way I read the statute was that (a) if you were a Clark county resident you had to register ...

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    233

    Default

    The way I read the statute was that (a) if you were a Clark county resident you had to register any handgun within 72 hours; and (b) if you were NOT a Clark county resident you only had to register if you were going to be in Clark County in excess of 60 or 180 days (forget the exact #).

    Now, my question is: Since LV no longer recognizes any of my permits from other states and since I am a non resident of Nevada, if I decide to visit Las Vegas on a short holiday, how long will the process take and what will be involved in getting my Nevada non resident concealed carry permit? I see the rules and the applications but it really doesn't tell me what I want to know.

    I gather that by attending an authorized training facility I will be provided with everything I need including print cards and prints, etc., for a fee, and simply drop this off at the local constabulary? Do I have to pick it up in person or will they mail it to me?

    Thanks a bunch.



    Quote Originally Posted by Teamdigit View Post
    Any handgun capable of being concealed upon one's person must be registered in Clark County. This would be any handgun with a barrel length of 10 inches or less. There is one exception and that is NFA items.
    Last year I bought a full auto M11/9 machine pistol. Since it requires the CLEO sign-off anyway, it does not need to have a blue card.
    If I wanted to put it on my CFP, I do not have to register it because it is considered by the ATF to be a machine gun and not a handgun even though the manufacturer calls it a machine pistol). I can have it on my permit because Nevada has concealed FIREARMS permits and therefore they are not restricted to revolvers and pistols.
    I would not add this gun to my permit because it is strictly considered an offensive weapon and I fear I would be screwed royally if I used it for a defensive shooting outside of my personal residence. However, this is only my opinion about full auto weapons on CCW permits. YMMV.
    There is one more thing you can do to keep the local LE out of the picture. I bought all my NFA items through my revocable living trust. No fingerprints, no photos, and NO sign-off by the sheriff. Only the feds know where it is. Same thing for my suppressors.
    Oh, and everyone on the Interwebs reading this post.

  2. #12
    netentity's Avatar
    netentity is offline Obama is a mack daddy!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Green Valley (Henderson) NV
    Posts
    849

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by torontogunguy View Post
    The way I read the statute was that (a) if you were a Clark county resident you had to register any handgun within 72 hours; and (b) if you were NOT a Clark county resident you only had to register if you were going to be in Clark County in excess of 60 or 180 days (forget the exact #).

    Now, my question is: Since LV no longer recognizes any of my permits from other states and since I am a non resident of Nevada, if I decide to visit Las Vegas on a short holiday, how long will the process take and what will be involved in getting my Nevada non resident concealed carry permit? I see the rules and the applications but it really doesn't tell me what I want to know.

    I gather that by attending an authorized training facility I will be provided with everything I need including print cards and prints, etc., for a fee, and simply drop this off at the local constabulary? Do I have to pick it up in person or will they mail it to me?
    It's 60 days for handgun registration for Clark County. Again, don't pay attention to Teamdigit on SMGs. The statutory scope of your Nevada CFP and recognized States is limited to (specific) semi-auto pistols (by make, model and caliber), revolvers and one or two round derringers. If you qualify with any five or six round revolver, you're authorized to carry one or two round derringers as well as any revolver. Our permit should really be called a concealed handgun or pistol permit, not a firearm permit since the scope is specifically limited to handguns or pistols.

    In NV, fingerprinting is done by the county sheriff when you apply, it's part of the application fee. The only States that allow you to mail in your fingerprints that I know about are CT, FL, UT and VA. Some of those States (FL and VA) require that the prints be taken by a US law enforcement agency in which case I include the receipt they provide stating what agency took the prints.

    Many instructors provide the application packet as part of the class materials along with instructions on how and where to apply to the county they are based in.

    One day for the 8 hour initial permit class and count on a day at the LVMPD CCW Detail. You can call the CCW Detail and they will mail you an application package along with their list of approved instructors. Washoe and Churchill Counties should do the same thing. However if you're not a Nevada resident, I do recommend you apply through Washoe or Churchill counties since they tend to be quicker and more efficient than Clark County. You can legally take your training from any county approved instructor so it is feasible for you to get your instruction here an apply in Washoe or Churchill counties. Per the NVSCA it is the responsibility of the sheriff (or their designee) you apply to contact the county where you received your instruction to verify the instructor's status if you were not instructed in their county. However, Washoe and Churchill counties now require 4x4s and snow chains or tires to get to after flying into the closet airport.

    You will also need your green card if you're not a US citizen to apply through any county.
    Know the law; don't ask, don't tell.
    NRA & UT Certified Instructor; CT, FL, NH, NV, OR & UT CCW Holder
    Happy new 1984; 25 years behind schedule. Send lawyers, guns and money...the SHTF...

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    195

    Default

    HEY TEAMDIGIT (Kurt) !

    It's me Raymond. How are you doing? Long time no see you and your wife. I recently participated the member of USA Carry.
    NRA Life Member

  4. #14
    Teamdigit's Avatar
    Teamdigit is offline Nevada/Utah CCW Intructor
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by netentity View Post
    Caught you Kurt. You can only have semi-automatic firearms on your Nevada CFP, remember NRS 202.3653? Our permits by statutory definition only authorize you to carry the following; specific (by make, model and caliber) semi-automatic pistols or revolvers and one or two round derringers.

    Florida is the same way. You cannot carry a machine gun on Florida license or one that is honored in Florida per Florida Statute 790.06 (1).
    Caught me, did ya?

    Go back and reread that statue. 202.3653 is titled "definitions" and although it clearly defines what constitutes a semi auto, it has nothing to do with what can go on your permit.
    NRS 202.3653 Definitions. As used in NRS 202.3653 to 202.369, inclusive, unless the context otherwise requires:

    1. “Concealed firearm” means a loaded or unloaded pistol, revolver or other firearm which is carried upon a person in such a manner as not to be discernible by ordinary observation.

    2. “Department” means the Department of Public Safety.

    3. “Permit” means a permit to carry a concealed firearm issued pursuant to the provisions of NRS 202.3653 to 202.369, inclusive.

    4. “Revolver” means a firearm that has a revolving cylinder with several chambers, which, by pulling the trigger or setting the hammer, are aligned with the barrel, placing the bullet in a position to be fired. The term includes, without limitation, a single or double derringer.

    5. “Semiautomatic firearm” means a firearm which:

    (a) Uses the energy of the explosive in a fixed cartridge to extract a fixed cartridge and chamber a fresh cartridge with each single pull of the trigger; and

    (b) Requires the release of the trigger and another pull of the trigger for each successive shot.

    (Added to NRS by 1995, 2721; A 1997, 1175; 1999, 850; 2001, 2579; 2005, 596; 2007, 3151)


    I think this is what you're looking for:

    NRS 202.3657 Application for permit; eligibility; denial or revocation of permit.

    1. Any person who is a resident of this State may apply to the sheriff of the county in which he resides for a permit on a form prescribed by regulation of the Department. Any person who is not a resident of this State may apply to the sheriff of any county in this State for a permit on a form prescribed by regulation of the Department. Application forms for permits must be furnished by the sheriff of each county upon request.

    2. Except as otherwise provided in this section, the sheriff shall issue a permit for revolvers, one or more specific semiautomatic firearms, or for revolvers and one or more specific semiautomatic firearms, as applicable, to any person who is qualified to possess the firearm or firearms to which the application pertains under state and federal law, who submits an application in accordance with the provisions of this section and who:

    (a) Is 21 years of age or older;

    (b) Is not prohibited from possessing a firearm pursuant to NRS 202.360; and

    (c) Demonstrates competence with revolvers, each specific semiautomatic firearm to which the application pertains, or revolvers and each such semiautomatic firearm, as applicable, by presenting a certificate or other documentation to the sheriff which shows that he:

    NRS 202.350 Manufacture, importation, possession or use of dangerous weapon or silencer; carrying concealed weapon without permit; penalties; issuance of permit to carry concealed weapon; exceptions.

    1. Except as otherwise provided in this section and NRS 202.355 and 202.3653 to 202.369, inclusive, a person within this State shall not:
    (a) Manufacture or cause to be manufactured, or import into the State, or keep, offer or expose for sale, or give, lend or possess any knife which is made an integral part of a belt buckle or any instrument or weapon of the kind commonly known as a switchblade knife, blackjack, slungshot, billy, sand-club, sandbag or metal knuckles;

    (b) Manufacture or cause to be manufactured, or import into the State, or keep, offer or expose for sale, or give, lend, possess or use a machine gun or a silencer, unless authorized by federal law;

    (c) With the intent to inflict harm upon the person of another, possess or use a nunchaku or trefoil; or

    (d) Carry concealed upon his person any:

    (1) Explosive substance, other than ammunition or any components thereof;

    (2) Dirk, dagger or machete;

    (3) Pistol, revolver or other firearm, or other dangerous or deadly weapon; or

    (4) Knife which is made an integral part of a belt buckle.

    (Nothing prohibiting a concealed machine gun as long as I'm authorized by the Feds.)


    8. As used in this section:

    (a) “Concealed weapon” means a weapon described in this section that is carried upon a person in such a manner as not to be discernible by ordinary observation.

    (b) “Honorably retired” means retired in Nevada after completion of 10 years of creditable service as a member of the Public Employees’ Retirement System. A former peace officer is not “honorably retired” if he was discharged for cause or resigned before the final disposition of allegations of serious misconduct.

    (c) “Machine gun” means any weapon which shoots, is designed to shoot or can be readily restored to shoot more than one shot, without manual reloading, by a single function of the trigger.

    [B(]This is the only sticky wicket in the way the statute is worded)[/B]

    (d) “Nunchaku” means an instrument consisting of two or more sticks, clubs, bars or rods connected by a rope, cord, wire or chain used as a weapon in forms of Oriental combat.

    (e) “Qualified law enforcement officer” has the meaning ascribed to it in 18 U.S.C. § 926B(c).

    (f) “Qualified retired law enforcement officer” has the meaning ascribed to it in 18 U.S.C. § 926C(c).

    (g) “Silencer” means any device for silencing, muffling or diminishing the report of a firearm, including any combination of parts, designed or redesigned, and intended for use in assembling or fabricating a silencer or muffler, and any part intended only for use in such assembly or fabrication.





    So here's the deal; my gun falls into both categories as defined by the State. I qualified with the gun in semi auto and that is what was circled on my qualification sheet. I did have to get a blue card for it because if I'm going in as semi auto and concealable then I have to play by the Clark County registration ordinance.

    This situation can be treated just like 'open carry'. Nevada is not an open carry state. It's a free carry state.
    Open carry is de facto legal because there is no statute specifically prohibiting open carry.

    There is no specific statute or verbage that prohibits me from carrying my SMG concealed as long as I'm in compliance with Federal Laws. Therefore, like open carry, it is de facto legal.


    Capeesh?




    .
    Last edited by Teamdigit; 03-17-2010 at 10:20 PM. Reason: made it easier to read
    I have a perfect body. It's in the trunk and starting to stink.

    NEVADA & UTAH CCW Instructor

  5. #15
    Teamdigit's Avatar
    Teamdigit is offline Nevada/Utah CCW Intructor
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by netentity View Post
    It's 60 days for handgun registration for Clark County. Again, don't pay attention to Teamdigit on SMGs.

    Yeah. What that guy said.
    I have a perfect body. It's in the trunk and starting to stink.

    NEVADA & UTAH CCW Instructor

  6. #16
    Teamdigit's Avatar
    Teamdigit is offline Nevada/Utah CCW Intructor
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RRGlock23 View Post
    HEY TEAMDIGIT (Kurt) !

    It's me Raymond. How are you doing? Long time no see you and your wife. I recently participated the member of USA Carry.

    Hi, Ray! You're everywhere on the Internet these days.

    Linda was doing okay but the doctor found a new area that has cancer and so she will need the surgery again. I know you will keep us in your prayers, so thank you in advance.

    Kurt


    .
    I have a perfect body. It's in the trunk and starting to stink.

    NEVADA & UTAH CCW Instructor

  7. #17
    netentity's Avatar
    netentity is offline Obama is a mack daddy!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Green Valley (Henderson) NV
    Posts
    849

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Teamdigit View Post
    Caught me, did ya?
    [COLOR="Blue"]So here's the deal; my gun falls into both categories as defined by the State. I qualified with the gun in semi auto and that is what was circled on my qualification sheet. I did have to get a blue card for it because if I'm going in as semi auto and concealable then I have to play by the Clark County registration ordinance.

    This situation can be treated just like 'open carry'. Nevada is not an open carry state. It's a free carry state.
    Open carry is de facto legal because there is no statute specifically prohibiting open carry.

    There is no specific statute or verbage that prohibits me from carrying my SMG concealed as long as I'm in compliance with Federal Laws. Therefore, like open carry, it is de facto legal.

    Capeesh?
    I capeesh if you want to be the test case go right ahead. It's pretty clear to me that you can only legally carry a concealable semi-automatic pistol, revolver or a one or two round derringer concealed in Nevada. That is all the scope of what you are authorized to carry concealed in Nevada under a Nevada CFP provided you have qualified with it or the class of firearm it belongs to (i.e. revolver or one or two round derringer). Yes, you can carry openly a machine gun in Nevada. I wouldn't do it unless you want a Darwin Award.

    A firearm which is capable of discharging more than one round per an action of the holder (typically the trigger) is a machine gun.

    The Clark County handgun registration code applies to barrel length and the capability of being fired one handed. There's no distinction between semi and fully automatic. It's anything with a 12 inch or less barrel without a shoulder stock.

    Because it is capable of going fully automatic by moving the safety selector you're carrying a machine gun not a semi-automatic firearm. If it's something that's on a BATFE form 1 or 4 it can't be placed on your Nevada CFP nor can you legally carry it in accordance to LEOSA.

    If you have qualified with a semi-automatic variant of that firearm that's what you can legally carry concealed in Nevada provided it's on your Nevada CFP. Carrying the fully automatic version will put you in a world of hurt.
    Know the law; don't ask, don't tell.
    NRA & UT Certified Instructor; CT, FL, NH, NV, OR & UT CCW Holder
    Happy new 1984; 25 years behind schedule. Send lawyers, guns and money...the SHTF...

  8. #18
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    Posts
    623

    Default

    Having just moved to Henderson, Nv (Clark County) in January, I was astounded by the stupidity of the registration process. I now have a dozen handguns registered in Clark County. My Nevada CCW works everywhere in the state, but in Clark County I must have my blue card on my person.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Fallon
    Posts
    141

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lowjiber View Post
    Having just moved to Henderson, Nv (Clark County) in January, I was astounded by the stupidity of the registration process. I now have a dozen handguns registered in Clark County. My Nevada CCW works everywhere in the state, but in Clark County I must have my blue card on my person.
    Actually, you do NOT have to carry your blue card on your person while carrying your firearm.

    If you have info to indicate otherwise, please post!

  10. #20
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    Posts
    623

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by varminter22 View Post
    Actually, you do NOT have to carry your blue card on your person while carrying your firearm.

    If you have info to indicate otherwise, please post!
    I'd strongly recommend that you do...especially in North Las Vegas. I had a good friend who was detained for over two hours (sitting on a curb) in NLV because he didn't have his blue card.

    From my experience, Boulder City and NLV will at least hassle you if you aren't carrying the card along with your CCW permit. As a matter of fact Boulder City police dept will not even issue a Clark County blue card. I recently bought a gun from Tom's Guns in BC and he did the card...saying that if he didn't do it, I would have to go to Henderson (where I live) or LV PD.

    That's what's so confusing about the Clark County law. Different jurisdictions within the county view their responsibility to a county law differently.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •