Laws of transporting a handgun
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree4Likes

Laws of transporting a handgun

This is a discussion on Laws of transporting a handgun within the New Jersey Discussion and Firearm News forums, part of the Firearms Discussion by State category; Hello, I'm new to firearms, and I'm curious as to what the laws are pertaining to transporting your handgun in ...

Default Laws of transporting a handgun

Hello,

I'm new to firearms, and I'm curious as to what the laws are pertaining to transporting your handgun in NJ.

Must it be completely unloaded, with the ammo separated (ie one in the trunk, one in the glove box)?
    If pulled over, must you notify the officer you are carrying a weapon?

I would appreciate the information

cgiven1 is offline DAV-Patriot

A little more info. Do you reside in NJ or are you just passing through? If you reside in NJ the appropriate NJ law is followed. If you are passing through you have to abid by the federal statue. You can find some answers here: http://www.handgunlaw.us/states/newjersey.pdf
    Charlie Given
    Life Member NRA, GOA, TSRA
    Platinum Plus USCCA

I would read everything I can about transportinmg a gun in NJ before I walked out the front door. Do you have your FOID card?

I live in PA now (recently moved from MD), and under no circumstances would I risk transporting a weapon through NJ. They will (happily) lock you up in 1/2 a heatbeat there.

Quote Originally Posted by cgiven1 View Post
    A little more info. Do you reside in NJ or are you just passing through? If you reside in NJ the appropriate NJ law is followed. If you are passing through you have to abid by the federal statue. You can find some answers here: http://www.handgunlaw.us/states/newjersey.pdf