NY pistol permit DENIED!!!
Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree8Likes

NY pistol permit DENIED!!!

This is a discussion on NY pistol permit DENIED!!! within the New York Discussion and Firearm News forums, part of the Firearms Discussion by State category; Hi everyone, I'm a resident on Westchester County, in wonderful NY. I'm looking to get some advice on my current ...

Default NY pistol permit DENIED!!!

Hi everyone,

I'm a resident on Westchester County, in wonderful NY. I'm looking to get some advice on my current pistol permit dilemma.....here it goes:

Applied for a Westchester County pistol permit back in 06, just for sport shooting (no ccw). I waited 8 months for a response and was denied. The denial was based on a disorderly conduct arrest, along with unlicensed operation in 2002. The grounds for denial were that I "Lack the moral character necessary to posses a handgun". I spoke with a layer who informed me about filing an article 78 to appeal the decision, but ultimately he felt I would be better waiting a year and re-applying.

I waited and re-applied in September of 09.............Just got my response in the mail and DENIED AGAIN!!!!!!!!

I have yet again been denied on the same grounds of "Lacking moral character". My record is clean aside from that one incident in 2002. I'm really just shocked that I have been denied again....I guess the fact that I am the responsible owner of 2 long guns doesn't come into play when it comes to a pistol.

I will be filing the article 78 this time, although I'm not that optimistic about the outcome.

Anyone have a similar situation?

Any pointers on how to purse this?

It's amazing how little things can come back to haunt you. File the appeal and don't give up.

Good Luck!!!
    Good Luck!!!
    John
    http://www.packing4life.com