Does anyone tell me how many acres you must own to shoot 50 Caliber and automatics?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree8Likes

Does anyone tell me how many acres you must own to shoot 50 Caliber and automatics?

This is a discussion on Does anyone tell me how many acres you must own to shoot 50 Caliber and automatics? within the Texas Discussion and Firearm News forums, part of the Firearms Discussion by State category; I live in Montgomery County,TX near Lake Conroe and my neighbor is shooting these guns on his 20 acres. Other ...

Default Does anyone tell me how many acres you must own to shoot 50 Caliber and automatics?

I live in Montgomery County,TX near Lake Conroe and my neighbor is shooting these guns on his 20 acres. Other neighbors are complaining of the noise and they think it's me because I live on 40 acres. I am new to the county. Can someone please tell me if 20 acres is okay? The sound is obviously effecting some people. Thanks.
    Last edited by ForGodandCountry; 11-23-2011 at 01:38 AM. Reason: needed to add state and town to county name

Blog Entries

Noise aside, more important is the 50 cal. being fired into an adequate backstop? 20 acres is not near enough space to be safely firing a 50 cal. without an adequate backstop. Considering the range of a 50 cal, a much larger area might be required. As I recall, a section of land is 640 acres which is 1 square mile and that is far from adequate space to be open firing a 50 cal. in. If a sniper can hit targets at 1 1/4 mile, you know that it is probable that that bullet is capable of traveling for up to 2 miles. Just some food for thought.
    Kill them all and let God sort them out!

It depends on the shape of your property. 1/4 acre wide x 80 acres long should be fine if its square you may be a little shy. ;-)