New York State carry?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

New York State carry?

This is a discussion on New York State carry? within the Traveling With Handguns forums, part of the Handguns category; I am possible traveling through New York state this summer and am wondering the possibilities of carry. I would be ...

Default New York State carry?

I am possible traveling through New York state this summer and am wondering the possibilities of carry. I would be stopping only for gas and food, etc. if I put it unloaded in a lock box in the cargo bay am I good? does the ammo have to be locked up also? is there a band on 'high cap' magazines? I won't be going ANY where NEAR NYC. is there a duty to inform caps of carriage if stopped (for unconnected reasons)? thanks

Call NYS Police and ask them...they appear to be the most reasonable and approachable. Just for the record, and I am not a lawyer or LE...NY does not recognize out of state licenses...you can bring in, like you said, locked and unloaded, if going to compete in an official shoot at a club or range....not supposed to stop...I know, I know but the ones who wrote the rules aren't all on our side...

Keep it unloaded and locked. Stay away from New Jersey at all costs. They are worse.

golocx4 is offline Got Beretta's?

Do what I do when transporting through Illinois.
    I stop in Indiana, lock up gun in a gun safe.
    Enter Illinois and obey all traffic laws.
    Sometimes I don't stop in Indiana.

You must be travelling through the state within 24 hours. If NY is your destination, no handguns. Firearms locked and unloaded with ammo separated, not nec. Magazines are 10 round or less. I do not know if you are required to notify LEO.