Open carry is legal in Iowa but has many restrictions. In cities (incorporated area) you must have an Iowa Weapon Permit or out of state permit or license. Depending on who you talk to, open carry may or may not be common. Please be aware of the laws and places that are off-limits.
We cannot find an exact minimum age for open carry in Iowa. We have seen 18 years of age listed as well as 21 years of age listed. You must be 21 years of age for an Iowa Non-Professional Weapon Permit or 18 years of age for an Iowa Professional Weapon Permit.
Open carrying in a vehicle is also not legal unless you have an Iowa Weapon Permit or out of state permit or license.
For concealed carry information, visit our Iowa Concealed Carry page.
We try to keep the information on this page as up to date as possible but due to changing laws it is your responsibility to verify all information. The information on this page is for informational purposes only and not for the purpose of providing legal advice. You should contact your attorney to obtain advice with respect to any particular issue or problem. Use of and access to this Web site, emails or any of the links contained within the site do not create an attorney-client relationship between i156 LLC and the user or browser. The opinions expressed at or through this site are the opinions of the individual author and may not reflect the opinions of i156 LLC.