Top Nav

TGSCom Closes Amid Fraud Complaints and “Financial Issues”

TGSCom Closes Amid Fraud Complaints and "Financial Issues"

TGSCom Closes Amid Fraud Complaints and “Financial Issues”

TGSCom, online firearms and accessory retailer based in Green Bay, Wisconsin, closed its doors last week. The owner, Eric Thompson, said it was due to financial issues but there have also been fraud complaints against the company. According to a WTAQ article, the Green Bay police are looking into pressing criminal charges against Thompson for theft by fraud for intentionally accepting internet orders and payment without providing products. According to Thompson, they are actively trying to get new investors for the business and hopes to get things turned back around and “get it going once again real soon”. He also denied that orders have not been fulfilled.

If you are unfamiliar with TGSCom, they own many sites such as OutdoorSportsUSA.com and TopGlock.com along with many other online storefronts.

They also ran an affiliate program called TheOutdoorAffiliate.com which I promoted which is where my part of the story comes in. I have been promoting their affiliate program for the past few months. Everything seems to be going fine. I saw orders going through, being marked as shipped and then received commission checks on those orders. Some orders were marked as pending which I assumed were just backordered items that haven’t been shipped yet. (Note: they do not pay out on pending orders, only shipped orders after 45 days of the ship date.)

Starting around the beginning on May 2012, I was unable to check my stats. All I would receive is an error message which I am still receiving as of this writing:

Error Certain features of the website are currently undergoing routine maintanence. Please try again later.Thank you for your patience.TGSCOM, Inc IT Team

I tried to email their Affiliate Manager but received no response. After sending a few emails with no response I figured I would call them to find out what was going on. It was to my surprise that I was unable to find any phone numbers listed on their websites. So I did a look up on their domain name to find their toll free number 800-518-3808. After calling, I received the following recording:

Thanks for calling TGSCom. Your leading online supplier of firarm accessories and outdoor gear.

We are having technical difficulties with our systems. We hope to respond to every concern as quickly as possible.

After the message the phone is disconnected. That’s when I started to get worried and searching around the net to see what I could find. And it didn’t take long to find many customers complaining about orders they have placed and never received. A quick Google search on TGSCom brings up forum discussions about these issues. The wall on their Facebook page has many complaints about this as well with most  of them not being responded to.

Next was a search for their BBB status which at the time was a D-. The BBB received 2,258 within the past year and continues to receive hundreds of calls per week.   Now the BB shows the following message:

On May 30 2012, BBB was informed by the Green Bay, Wisconsin Police Department that Eric Thompson, owner of TGS.Com, stated that the company was no longer in operation.

According to information in BBB files, it appears that this business is no longer in business.

After doing some more digging, I was able to find out that the only people left at the company at that time was Eric Thompson and maybe his accountant. I emailed them both on May 30, 2012 asking for a status of the company and why customers were complaining about not receiving orders they had purchased but received no response.

This morning is when I found the WTAQ article stating that they have closed down.

This has taught me a very good lesson, research the companies you are buying from and promoting. When I was contacted by them to promote OutdoorSportsUSA.com through their affiliate program TheOutdoorAffiliate.com, I found no complaints and assumed they were a reputable company. What I should have searched on was the parent company TGSCom which bring up many complaints, some going back as far as 2006.

As of this morning I have filed my own complaint to the BBB and will be contacting the Wisconsin Department of Justice Monday morning. If you have placed any orders with them, been charged and not received your order I would suggest contacting your credit card company, filing a BBB report and contating the Wisconsin Department of Justice as well.

You can find a list of their partner sites on their website here, all of which seem to list every product as Out of Stock.

Update 6/2/2012 8:26AM CST – Here’s a story and video from FoxNews11:

TGSCOM owner could face charges

Update 6/2/2012 8:32AM CSTGreen Bay gun shop faces fraud complaints

Print Friendly

, ,

  • Jordan T

    Luke, please feel free to contact me if needed.

  • http://www.facebook.com/arthur.herold Arthur Herold

    Always best to also check the Secretary of State website where the parent company is located to determine the status of the company, whether it is current in filings, past due, dissolved, etc.

  • Dean Speir

    Don’t know about the “affiliate” businesses, but TGSCom’s business practices were so sub-standard and their customer service so unprofessional (just appalling!), that I refused to accept any transfers from them last May.

    It does not surprise me that they’ve shut down or that Thompson is in trouble.

  • Fyrewerx

    I have bought many things from GlockWorld (one of the TGS affiliates), and never had a serious problem. The issues of most concern were long delays in shipment. The webpages for the individual items always stated “In Stock”, but it appeared the only place the items may have been in stock were the distributors of which TGS was a customer. All items I ever ordered were delivered.

  • capta

    TGS is the company that owns the AR15Pro. Note the website shows EVERYTHING out-of-stock. Given the lack of customer service I am not surprised – just didn’t know about the volume of complaints, though the prices were good. 2.5 mos to get a damned rifle case that was damaged and I had to get it sewed. Only reason I didn’t send it back again was because I didn’t want to deal with their CS again. Guess I should consider myself lucky I got a case at all

  • http://twitter.com/mperkins37 Michael Perkins

    The SOB’s STILL have their site up & enabled for payments.

    • Matthew Earl Collins

      If you know anything about web stores and how it all works, which by your comment it’s obvious you don’t, the store owner rarely actually runs the website. Think about it, do you really think it would be possible for ONE PERSON to be able to take in all of those orders every day from all of those different websites that they owned and still have time to update ALL of the websites, do web maintenance, answer customer service emails, etc, and STILL have time to eat or sleep? It wouldn’t be possible. Mostly likely Eric hired out other people to maintain the websites and they failed on him.

      I remember calling customer service one day and got some lady that said my item was on it’s way. I asked for the tracking number and they said they would email it and it never came. Waited 2 weeks and nothing came. So I called again and asked for the MANAGER. I talked to Eric funny enough. He looked into it and found out it actually never got shipped because they had lost one of their distributors. This was probably at the same time all this b.s. was happening. Either way, Eric was very nice about the whole thing and apologized for the misunderstanding.

      I actually feel sorry for the guy because he probably just got involved with the wrong people when he opened his business or whoever was in charge of hiring people hired the wrong ass hole. It happens to the best of people. I just don’t get why people have to go and tarnish an innocent person’s name because they don’t know who else to BLAME!

      I’m not surprised this company got shut down after the confusion I went through with the lady on the phone. But, I would give that Eric guy a break because I doubt that he had anything to do with the b.s. that has been going on there.

      I remember another web store that I purchased a product from with my credit card. The website was still functioning, checkout, cart, email and all. After I made the purchase, I decided to cancel my order because I found the product cheaper elsewhere. When I tried to call their phone number it had been disconnected and found out shortly after doing a little thing called ‘GOOGLING’ that the company went bankrupt and had closed. So why was the website still up and functioning? It’s because the guy’s web designer/maintenance employee had hit the road or decided not to do their job anymore. PEOPLE ARE GETTING LAZIER BY THE MINUTE it seems like. So just because you don’t know WHO TO BLAME, don’t go running around pointing fingers at the first person you see because most likely it’s not their fault.

      Anyway, I called my credit card company up and they cleared my order on the spot. It was so easy, I really don’t understand how these 40 or so people that haven’t received their items(because they obviously ordered them after Eric closed his business down) haven’t called up their credit card banks to let them know. It’s so easy for them to get your money back. I really can’t believe all the fuss from all of you people.

  • http://www.facebook.com/eugene.johnson.54943 Eugene Johnson

    I ordered a part from TGSCOM on 2-10-12. They drafter the total amount on 2-22-12. Five months later my order status is still “processing”. I also called & emailed with no response. Now I know why.

  • Dez

    I ordered products from TGSCOM on 2/11/12. My credit card was charged on 3/30/12. No response to my emails, no products received as of today, 6/21/12, no credit received.
    Casper, Wyoming

    • sick of idiots

      Call your credit card company and open a dispute moron. It’s as simple as pressing 1-800-dumbass

  • Dave F

    I also ordered a few items from TGS. I am still waiting on 1 item, guess I will never see that item, or a refund of that!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • freakyheaven

    I have around $600 on order- status was put on backorder and this has been 6 months or more ago. I have all order numbers and emails sent from this company. I have gotten in conatct with the Green bay Police department as well and there is a detective working on the case.

    • Dale c.

      join tha crowd friend…you , me and hundreds more have been took…figure as a costly lesson….

    • carpet licker

      6 months ago and you haven’t cancelled your order? Are you an idiot? Why must idiots be competent enough to use a computer and post moronic crap on the web?

  • bigrc2

    i bought from tgs before had no problem and glock was cheaper anyone else

  • sickbird

    I have an order for a Ruger 10/22 Takedown on file with them, and had been unable to get status since April. Good thing (or coincidence) that I had to get rid of that credit card due to (unrelated?) fraudulent charges.

  • quality control

    I purchased a few products from TGS with NO problems. In fact, I remember talking to that Eric guy many times on the phone and he was very nice and easy to talk to.

    It really upsets me when the media gets involved with other people’s businesses and ruins their name. The owner of that business was just running a web store and had items dropped shipped from other warehouses. Therefore, he actually never had any inventory of his own. So if his other warehouses didn’t ship things out because of problems, you can’t really blame it on Eric for them not doing their jobs.

    And, when purchasing online with a credit card it’s VERY easy to open a dispute with your credit card company and let them know you never received items that were purchased. As long as you can prove that you never received the items, they will take the money back from the store. SIMPLE AS THAT. So I have a really hard time believing any of this crap to be true.

    And what is the deal with the media totally making a mockery out of Eric’s name? It’s not his fault if some crazy people came along and purchased things off of his web store. Yet, the media decides to post articles all over the WORLD WIDE WEB letting everyone know that his web store sold items to some crazies?

    It’s really not fair what has been done to this guy. I’m sure it’s all a big misunderstanding as to why a handful of people haven’t received their products. I’m sure the products are nothing more than some holsters, or magazines or something. And with that being the case, why not just cancel the order through the cc company? It doesn’t make sense. And fox11news, SHAME ON YOU for saying a bunch of nonsense about a business man who had no control over what his dumb employees were doing behind his back. Eric is a good guy, at least he seemed like it on the phone the many times I spoke with him. Why do this to people that have had their business fall apart on them? I’m sure the problems he’s been facing with his employees and personal life is enough for one man to deal with, why totally bombard him with all of this extra nonsense? WTF?

    • datablade

      You must be Eric Thompson, or in some way connected to him to write the above diatribe. They charged me $655 but sent nothing, so I will never rest until I obtain a refund or take it out of his hide…SIMPLE AS THAT!