Illinois Concealed Carry Facts - The Everyday Questions - Blogs - USA Carry - Concealed Carry Forum
View RSS Feed

GSSI

Illinois Concealed Carry Facts - The Everyday Questions

Rate this Entry
The Illinois State Police will be be making the concealed carry applications available on their website on January 5th, 2014. Eagerly we all wait in anticipation.

Some of you have already taken a required concealed carry course, and some of you have not. In any case, these are always the same questions that pop up regarding some of the fact. Yes, I have heard all of the birdies chirping, and each story has some sort of conflict with the actual Illinois Laws and regulations.

As grueling as it may seem to read 180 + pages the concealed carry law, it may be in your best interest to find a cozy spot and have a good read. I have said this many times before: Illinois Concealed Carry does not give you the right to act as a vigilante or take on the duties of a trained police officer. You can find the Illinois Firearm Concealed Carry Act HERE. There is also a good deal of information on our website: Granite Security Services Inc.

For now folks, here are some simple facts to start with: Click here to read the rest of the article

TO APPLY FOR AN ILLINOIS CONCEALED CARRY PERMIT, YOU MUST:

- Be at 21 years of age or older

- Possess a valid FOID Card, or meet requirements of a FOID card

- Complete the required firearms training course. If you have taken a prior class, please refer to the list of training courses acceptable to satisfy the prior training requirements, consistent with Sections 75(g) and (i) of the Act, and the appropriate credit to be applied for each. See the list here: Acceptable Prior Credit List

- Not have been convicted of two or more DUI violations within the last 5 years or completed court-ordered addiction treatment.

- No active warrants for your arrest or

- Not have been charged with a misdemeanor involving the use or threat of physical violence

CONCEALED CARRY TRAINING REQUIREMENTS:

-Training must be provided by approved and certified instructors by the Illinois State Police.

- The class curriculum MUST be approved and certified by Illinois State Police.

-Completion of the 16 hour firearm training, with a curriculum that includes: Legal usage of firearms, firearm safety, marksmanship, principles of marksmanship, and cleaning/maintaining firearms.

-Training must include a live fire exercise of at least 30 rounds with a 70 percent accuracy at minimum.

-Must provide proof to the instructor of previous training to receive appropriate credit to be applied toward the 16 hour training

ILLINOIS CONCEALED CARRY APPLICATION FEES:

-$150 for a 5 year permit

-There will be a charge of $75 to replace a lost or stolen license

-There will be a charge of $75 to change your address

-Fingerprints are not required but highly recommended. If you do not supply LiveScan prints with your application, you may be charge additional fees by the Illinois State Police, and your application could be delayed by 30 or more.

FIREARMS ARE PROHIBITED IN THE FOLLOWING AREAS:

-Secondary schools and/or elementary schools

-All preschools

-Any Government facility or agency including courthouses

-Colleges and universities

-Public libraries

-Airports

-Casinos and/or gaming facilities. This includes off-track betting facilities

-Sporting events

-Stadiums and/or arenas

-Amusement parks

-Zoos

-Museums

Do your research make sure that you are taking a legitimate firearms training course. I can not stress enough that it is important to verify that not only does the instructor need to be certified, but so does the curriculum.

There will be a flood of application coming in on January 5th, 2014 when applications for the concealed carry permit becomes available. Avoid having your application rejected by the Illinois State Police by verifying every detail of your firearms training course.

If you are interested in registering for the firearms course, please register at: Concealed Carry Class Registration

Comments

Quantcast