Is carrying dangerous?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Is carrying dangerous?

1. Question Is carrying dangerous?

I am new to guns (having grown up in NYC), but started carrying several months ago. Prior to this I was pretty oblivious to the possibility of being a victim.

Since then however I've been obsessing over every possible scenario that might occur while I'm carrying. (in order to be prepared).

The two situations that make me wonder if I'm really better off with a gun:

1) I'm approached by 2 or more BG with guns pointed at me. I don't dare draw because they have the drop on me. While patting me down for my wallet, they discover my gun and take it. At best, I've lost the gun, at worst they shoot me with it. Not having the gun, I've lost my wallet, but the odds are they won't kill me (at least in my area of the country).

2) A home invasion scenario: one or more BG's break in. They have drawn handguns. I manage to get two shots from my 38 special +P into the torso of each (optimistically). They manage to shoot me before they fall (BG'S don't fall as fast as they do in the movies). If I didn't have a gun, they probably would ransack the house, but leave us alone.

I don't regret the decision to buy a handgun or obtain my CWP but can someone reassure me that my concerns are groundless?

as for me, even in an extreme situation where I may not even have good odds I would rather have a chance than be left totally helpless. and bad guys generally are scared off by a good guy with a gun because they don't want to die either. to them it is the business they chose. so you can bet that if they hear a gun being discharged they will be running away with their pants full. so in my opinion it would be more dangerous not carrying, especially when your life could be on the line.
    You can have my freedom as soon as I'm done with it!!!