Obtaining a permit in CA.... non-resident military

Thread: Obtaining a permit in CA.... non-resident military

1. Obtaining a permit in CA.... non-resident military

So I've been trying to do a bit of research and haven't found an answer yet. I'm a resident of New Jersey stationed in California on active duty orders. I would like to carry concealed, but was told I can't even apply for the permit unless I become a resident of this horrid state. So a few questions have come to mind.

1. Is this correct or is there a way to apply for a CA permit without becoming a resident?
    2. Is there a state that offers non-resident permits that CA accepts?

Quote Originally Posted by agent4573 View Post
    So I've been trying to do a bit of research and haven't found an answer yet. I'm a resident of New Jersey stationed in California on active duty orders. I would like to carry concealed, but was told I can't even apply for the permit unless I become a resident of this horrid state. So a few questions have come to mind.

1. Is this correct or is there a way to apply for a CA permit without becoming a resident?
    2. Is there a state that offers non-resident permits that CA accepts?

First, to try to get a permit in CA, you need to be politically connected, or know someone high in the PD/SO where you live...

Answer to 1: You must be a resident. If CA offers a California ID and you obtain one, you being in the military, you automatically become a "resident" even though you might have a NJ driver's license... (I'm in the CG and that is how it works everywhere I've been... i currently am considered a LA "resident" even though my residency is WV).

Answer to 2: Cali does not honor any permits.

Best thing I can think of is to live in a rural county where they are a little bit more liberal on their issuance...