Did I make a good choice for my primary carry piece?

Thread: Did I make a good choice for my primary carry piece?

1. Did I make a good choice for my primary carry piece?

I have been reading posts on the site for about a month now, and have really enjoyed the input that I have heard from others. We were on vacation in Florida for the month of February (I am an Ohio resident), so I was able to do a little research while we were gone as to what I would like to carry but I was not able to get serious about buying a carry gun until we got back to Ohio.

Someone on this forum suggested Fin, Feather, and Fur as a good place to go, and they were right. After looking at several options, I had pretty well settled on a SW MP 40 with laser sites. Just before making the purchase, though, I asked to hold a Kimber 1911 Ultra Carry 45. It was quite a bit more (about 40% more), but it felt so nice in my hand that I went the Kimber route. I was able to fire similar models to the two I was considering before settling on the Kimber.

I would appreciate the input of others on my choice. The biggest criticism of the Kimber unit that I have heard is that it is single action, but from a safety standpoint I actually like that. The only option I wish it had was a decock mechanism. If it had that, it would be perfect in my opinion.

Thanks,

Neal

If it works for you then you made a good choice. I am one of those that likes DBL Action/Single Action or DBL Action only better than single action. There are others that like single action. Matter of preference. I also feel that price should not be the over riding factor in a firearm purchase. My HK was far from the cheapest gun out there but when it comes to something I may need to save my life or a family member I will just have to find some other place to scrimp.