visit from non-permissive to permissive

Thread: visit from non-permissive to permissive

1. Question visit from non-permissive to permissive

I’m new to CC and would like your input. I live in a non-permissive state. Our families live throughout a state, starting less than three miles away, that recognizes my non-resistant Fla CCW. Naturally, I would like the security when visiting for dinners, birthdays and the like.

I thought about traveling with it properly secured in the truck and once cross the line find a place to subtle access it and reverse the procure on the way home– but this doesn’t sound seem good at all.

Perhaps I could travel with it secured until I reached a relatives home and a bathroom and then have to reverse the procedure to drive home – this too doesn’t seem too good either L although this is all I could come up with…. other than just leaving it at home.

Anybody have a similar situation? How do you handle it? Thanks for you time and thoughts.

Quote Originally Posted by Assault Manager View Post
    I would like the security when visiting for dinners, birthdays and the like.
    I'd probably avoid the hassle by not visiting, and I'd also look for more stable relatives.

When I lived in Florida with a resident permit, I often visited my daughter who lives in Columbia, SC. South Carolina does not (at least at the time) recognize the Florida permit, but Georgia does.

As I traveled up I-95 through Florida and Georgia, I carried my pistol. However, as I approached the SC state line, I simply unloaded and secured the weapon to continue my visit...reversing the process when heading back home.

5. reply

Quote Originally Posted by nogods View Post
    I'd probably avoid the hassle by not visiting, and I'd also look for more stable relatives.