Concealed Carry discussion with Kids
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Concealed Carry discussion with Kids

1. Concealed Carry discussion with Kids

Hi. Iím very glad, and fortunate to have taken the steps to be a responsible & citizen and have recently obtained my CCW permit. I am a extremely safe, responsible and curious person by nature, so Iím also curious about how some of you choose to deal with this topic. I have two kids (both under 10, and yes, I keep my guns secured and locked when not on my person) and since I just started carrying concealed, I haven't addressed this with them at all. Iíd prefer to have them not know at all that I carry, but Iím waiting for the moment that they notice it or feel it when I give them a hug or something.

I have to imagine this issue has crossed some of your minds....so how did you address it? Thank you.

Thumbs up Ditto!

I'm in the same boat as Cam9910. I've been CCing for over 10 years but I do have a 2 1/2 and 1 year old. Do you treat it like weapons and teach/educate them while they're young or is it something you try and keep quiet until they're old enough to know not to tell everyone they meet that their dad carries a gun. My initial reaction would be the latter. I can hear it now, in the middle of the grocery store "Daddy, show them your gun you have!" or something along those lines. Or telling their friends at school. I don't know. I haven't had to worry or think much about it at all so I'm really interested in reading what others have to say.
    Double Tap: If they're worth shooting once, their worth shooting twice...or even more!