florida law
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: florida law

1. florida law

I'm new to this and haven't gotten my permit yet but I've seen these cases called "phone cases" that hold a little 380. Are these legal? It would seem they could argue that it's a holster on your belt and considered open carry.

Quote Originally Posted by marijke81 View Post
    I'm new to this and haven't gotten my permit yet but I've seen these cases called "phone cases" that hold a little 380. Are these legal? It would seem they could argue that it's a holster on your belt and considered open carry.
    Yes, the "cell phone" case type holster is perfectly legal. Taurus even includes one with the gun when you buy a TCP. What is illegal (without a $200 tax stamp as an AOW) is a holster that completely disguises the gun, from which the gun can be fired without removing from the holster.

This is an AOW because it completely disguises the gun AND the gun can be fired without removing from the holster (although you would only get one shot because the slide would not cycle):
    Anyone who says, "I support the 2nd amendment, BUT"... doesn't. Element of Surprise: a mythical element that many believe has the same affect upon criminals that Kryptonite has upon Superman.

This is sold with the TCP and is perfectly legal, with no hoops to jump through, because the gun cannot be fired without removing it from the case:
    Anyone who says, "I support the 2nd amendment, BUT"... doesn't. Element of Surprise: a mythical element that many believe has the same affect upon criminals that Kryptonite has upon Superman.

This is also perfectly legal, with no hoops to jump through, because it does not disguise the gun:

6. Thanks thats very helpful

Thanks thats very helpful