When you carry do you have a round in the chamber?
Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast

Thread: When you carry do you have a round in the chamber?

When you carry do you have a round in the chamber?

I know that this had been asked before but I was wanting to know for safety sake if you carry with a round in the chamber, I have heard horror stories of people shooting themselves either holstering or drawing their weapon. I do not have a thumb safety on my pistol. I carry a Smith &Wesson M&P 40 pro and do not want to shoot myself in the leg. I am fairly new to carrying a pistol so your opinions are needed.

3. If you keep the handgun in the holster you won't have a problem of touching the trigger and causing a discharge.
    Most everyone carries with a loaded chamber. ;-)

When I carry my Ruger LC9, I carry with the safety on and a round in the chamber. When I carry my S&W M&P40 which has no safety, I do not carry a round in the chamber.
    Alan, TN

Chambered round

I do think and think ( if ) confronted by B.G. You will have to jack a round if not there. my suggestion practice drawing without rounds for smooth draw. I carry all the time 40 cal. Glock internal safety

6. I carry a Glock 26 and Sig Sauer P226 which doesnt have a safety of any kind and I always have 1 in the chamber . If you practice proper firearms safety then you will have no problems. Make sure when you draw or holster your firearm you have your trigger finger alongside the frame or on the slide as you do it.
    If you have and don't have a round in the chamber you might as well not carry because your can't tell a work "time out I need to chamber a round to shoot you....ok proceed". If you haven't take a carry course .
    Keep your finger off the trigger until ready to shoot.

Good luck

7. always, every gun