1st time carrying concealed today...
Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: 1st time carrying concealed today...

1. 1st time carrying concealed today...

After "practicing" around the house for a month or so, I finally got up the nerve to go out into public armed...

The family and I made a run to a local country fair today and well, thankfully, it was very uneventful. It was a battle of nerves more than anything. I'd be lying if I was not just a little paranoid I was printing...like every 2 minutes.

Does anyone else remember their first time carrying concealed? Were you a little self conscious? Any advice or experience out there for first timers just getting used to the armed lifestyle?

you know, i think i was more nervous about shooting than i was about carrying. i've been carrying for about 2 yrs now and i still get self conscious about printing once in a while. i generally make myself feel better by thinking "if someone sees and doesn't like it... screw em... it's my right. so long as i'm doing what i'm supposed to to try and keep it concealed, who cares what people think." u do get used to it though. now i'd feel as lost if i left the house without it as i would if i forgot my wallet or cell phone.

If you've been carrying at home for a month, you know already whether the gun is uncovered or printing. Relax a little bit. keep your head up and eyes open. Don't drink. Don't show it (the gun) to anyone, and for God's sake don't take it out of the holster for any reason unless you really mean it.

You weren't the only one at that fair that was armed today. There is nothing notable about carrying once you make a habit of it.

Thank you for being another armed good guy. The world is a little but safer when responsible gun owners are about.

-Matt