Sheepdog attitude...pros vs. cons
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Sheepdog attitude...pros vs. cons

Sheepdog attitude...pros vs. cons

I'm new here, so please forgive me if this topic has been talked to death already...

I've seen a few comments since I've been on board here that seem to put down the sheepdog mentality as somehow over-zealous, over-tough, or dangerous. I'm not sure I understand where this come from. I have 16 years of LEO experience, and have carried off duty for quite a while now. To me, the sheepdog mentality equates to "condition yellow," aware, alert, looking for trouble so you and your family might AVOID it, not plunge headlong into it. Stay ahead of the criminal mentality, and you stand your best chance of not becoming a victim. But nonetheless, there seem to be some here who equate the sheepdog with the would-be John Wayne, supercop without a badge. So my question, though maybe poorly explained, is this:

What is the real definition of the sheepdog mentality here? And once we decide that, is it better to have that attitude than to remain armed sheep?

Unfortunately I can't get into details on a public forum, but let me say this: there was a time I would have agreed with you. And I still think there are people who are mature and responsible enough to assume this role. But at one point in my life I saw someone who took "sheepdog" very seriously who was nowhere near competent enough to take on this role, but was unfortunately in a position of great influence. The problem isn't the reasonable, common-sense guys, it's the wanna be's and mall ninjas who are looking for opportunities to jump into a fire fight. The worst part is, they readily and enthusiastically preach this doctrine to anyone who will listen. And it really makes me wish someone had never, ever mentioned the word "sheepdog" to these people in the sum of their lives.