Concealed Carry and foreign criminal record
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Concealed Carry and foreign criminal record

1. Concealed Carry and foreign criminal record

I have recently moved to the wonderful state of North Carolina, I am looking into getting my concealed carry permit. However, I have come across a bit of a dilemma. A few years back I was charged and plead guilty to owning a butterfly knife, 2 knuckle blades, and 3 throwing stars in the strict country of Canada. Will this prevent me from getting my permit? I have no history of violence, assault, or any other form of criminal activity. Just happened to have bought some knives when living in Tennessee and then moved to Canada for work.
    Thanks,
    Luke

Blog Entries
    Good question! I'm not a lawyer but I don't think it should but if I were you I would check with a lawyer just to be sure so you don't waste time & money trying to get a ccp just to find out you can't.

Concealed Carry and foreign criminal record

That's a good question that I've never heard asked before. I don't think you should have an issue. Are you a natural born us citizen? I wouldn't think CHL background checks would dig into foreign history unless you were a fairly recent naturalized citizen. And even then, it sounds expensive and unlikely for something like a CHL. If you were applying for say a government security clearance then that would probably come up, but as for a CHL, I doubt it. As long as you're not a fugitive or I think you're probably fine but a good lawyer should be able to confirm. Were your charges felonies up there?

As capable as the US is dealing with anything foreign, like credit checks or employment histories, I very much doubt that this will come up. What was the charge, exactly? A misdemeanor, a felony?
    Knarren und Zigarren!!!