To carry hot or not?
Page 1 of 19 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: To carry hot or not?

To carry hot or not?

I'm still fairly new to carrying, so my question is..should I carry hot or not?..why why not? Thank you for any info, and remember I'm still new to carrying so I want as much info as I can get so I can make an educated decision. Sorry if this has been asked already.

Your question has been asked and discussed. I and most believe that you should always carry hot. This is because the BG may not give you time to chamber a round. Even if you stay aware of your surroundings you may not have time. But everyone must do what they are comfortable with. I carry hot. Not because I expect to use it but in case I would need it!!!!

4. The only reason to carry is to be able to defend yourself and your loved ones so I agree with vernsimpson that you must carry hot. If your worried about safety then carry a pocket pistol such as the Ruger LC9 which also has a safety on it which can be released with your thumb while drawing. I carry an LC9 in my right front pocket and I love it. But you need to practice drawing from your pocket and releasing the safety at the same time so you become proficient and comfortable. Then you can carry hot with little worry about an acidental mis-fire.

Hope this helps.

Vernsimpson is correct. If you're really in a situation where you need your firearm, you are simply not going to have the time to rack a round into the chamber. You don't want have to think about that. Everyone I've ever talked to about a self-defense situation all say it develops very quickly. Training a practice will help you develop the safe practices and confidence needed to carry hot.
    NRA Life Member
    NRA Certified Instructor (Pistol & Personal Defense in the Home)
    North Carolina Concealed Carry Instructor