Travelling through Illinois - WITH A GUN!!!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Travelling through Illinois - WITH A GUN!!!

1. Travelling through Illinois - WITH A GUN!!!

Driving from Michigan to Utah...I am a Michigan resident and have a CPL. We have reciprocity the whole way except Illinois.

I was planning on sticking the Glock 19 (15 round magazine) unloaded and in the trunk for Illinois. Is this legally OK? If pulled over in Illinois should I tell the officer about the gun in the trunk?

Obviously the rest of the states I carry like normal. I really don't want to drive around all of Illinois...takes me really far south...

Thanks guys.

3. You don't have to if you have a permit in your state. You can carry but only in your car

Sent from my GT-N8013 using Tapatalk

4. Can he carry it loaded on his hip?

Honestly, I would leave it unloaded in your trunk while you drive through Illinois, while it may sound bad, I would not notify an LEO [in Illinois]. If he does not have probable cause to search, then dont allow him to search your vehicle, remain respectful and get the stop over as fast as possible. OR, go around Illinois, find the quickest route through the state, and dont stop until the sign kicks you in the butt.
    Only two defining forces have ever offered to die for you, Jesus Christ and the American Soldier....One died for your soul; the other for your freedom.

6. Yeah, I have no need to go through there but that is what I would do also.

Quote Originally Posted by mojoman View Post
    Can he carry it loaded on his hip?
    Yes, concealed carry anywhere in the car is okay, including on the hip.

FOPA is your friend, google it, read it, memorize it and follow it to a T and you should have no problems

9. Quote Originally Posted by apvbguy View Post
    FOPA is your friend, google it, read it, memorize it and follow it to a T and you should have no problems