New Member Howdy
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New Member Howdy

Smile New Member Howdy

Hello everyone... I'm new to USA Carry, and also soon to be a CCW permit holder in Norfolk, Virginia. (I completely my application just recently) I've been reading just as much as my brain can absorb online in figuring out what gun to buy, which holster style and/or brand to purchase, and more than anything, how to be a safe and effective CW carrier.

My reasons for deciding to carry stem mostly from my job, and the floundering economy. I manage low income rental property in Norfolk, so at least 2-3 x per week I spend a portion of my day checking on my various properties, most of which are located in crime-laden neighborhoods where anyones screams would go completely ignored. On top of that, being that most tenants pay their rent in cash means we're at a very increased risk of robbery in the work place. For awhile now I've kept a S&W K frame .357 on hand in the office, but with more and more desperate people out there, I'd like to be prepared no matter what.

There sure are a million choices out there with what to carry. I think it's important to me that whatever I choose, it's light and comfortable, so I won't think twice about having my gun with me when it's appropriate (anytime I'm somewhere it's legal to do so), but balanced with something with enough power and capacity to get the job done. The simplicity of a lightweight wheelgun has it's appeals, because I'm pretty sure if the SHTF, I really don't want to get hung up with remembering various switches and safeties. That said, with enough training, a thumb safety 1911 style should be second nature eventually. Glock's have a bit of appeal because they are pretty much point and shoot as well, and capacity is greatly increased over some models. Again, it's down to that balance of size vs. capacity vs. caliber.