summer time carry
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: summer time carry

summer time carry

I was wondering, as I am still new to gun ownership, what one would say once summer comes and you open carry? What I mean is, currently because it is so cold, I wear a tshirt tucked into my jeans then my pistol then a sweatshirt over that. Come summer, as I will still carry, it will be more open and while some of VA is all for carrying of a fire arm and our 2nd amendment rights others are not.

What would you say or handle if someone shows distaste or open hostility that you are exercising your rights? I am proud of the fact I took all the steps necessary to carry and my ability to shoot and to field strip and yes, even get over my fear of a fire arm or any weapon really. Long story there.

in the winter i carry a sig 220 full size, during the summer i carry a smith and wesson j frame with a set of collins lip grips and just leave my shirt untucked. even in the event someone see's it so little showing above the belt that its nearly impossible to tell what it is. the only downfall ive found is sweat make's the alluminum frame corrode. i plan to rectify this by getting one of those new ruger polymer revolvers with a set of lip grips

I carry a Glock 19 .9mm all the time in a Blackhawk duty type holster. I can see in the summer the metal part that lays against my hip would get a bit sweaty...I can leave my shirt untucked and put it over the pistol but you will see it's outline..

5. Quote Originally Posted by Cari A. View Post

What would you say or handle if someone shows distaste or open hostility that you are exercising your rights?
    They usually won't confront you, they will just call the cops, which in nothing more than a slight inconvenience as long as you're legal. I never go to great efforts to conceal, but I rarely open carry. Usually a belt or paddle with an un-tucked shirt or jacket covering it. I'm not really worried if someone sees it.