Amtrak--Anyone got a quick answer?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Amtrak--Anyone got a quick answer?

1. Amtrak--Anyone got a quick answer?

A last minute unscheduled trip has come up. I'm a VA resident driving to WV tomorrow and taking the train back. I have a VA resident CCL; WV is a reciprocal state.

I have looked at Amtrak website and see no mention of CCW. Can I carry concealed on an Amtrak train?

3. Found the answer from Amtrak site

Prohibited Items

The following kinds of items are prohibited as both checked and carry-on baggage:

Any type of gun, firearm, ammunition, explosives, or weapon.
    Incendiaries, including flammable gases, liquids and fuels.
    Large, sharp objects such as axes, ice picks and swords.
    Corrosive or dangerous chemicals or materials, such as liquid bleach, tear gas, mace, radioactive and harmful bacteriological materials.
    Batteries with acid that can spill or leak (except those batteries used in motorized wheelchairs or similar devices for mobility-impaired passengers).
    Club-like items, such as billy clubs and nightsticks.
    Fragile and/or valuable items, including but not limited to electronic equipment. (Laptop computers and handheld devices may be carried onboard; however, Amtrak accepts no liability for damage.)
    Animals (except service animals).
    Oversized and/or overweight items.
    Please note: This is not an exhaustive list. Any item similar to those listed, even if not specifically mentioned here, is prohibited from being carried onboard or checked as baggage.

Angry Well, that tears it......

No more riding the rails for me!
    "The strongest reason for the people to retain the right to keep and bear arms is, as a last resort, to protect themselves against tyranny in government." Thomas Jefferson

Just curious, since AMTRAK is Federally funded, is it considered a Federal facility vis a vis the Post Office??

+1 with Boomboy... no train rides in my future either.