reloading question
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: reloading question

1. reloading question

I have been reloading for 4 years now. My wife and I prefer to shoot hard cast lead. 9mm cal. The other day my wife and I went to buy bullets only to find that we had to go to 4 different places to find a limited quantity. and the price went up almost double. So we decided to start looking into casting our own rounds. i have a lee single stage press if that means anfthing on this. my question here is what do we need in order to do this??? thank you ahead of time.

I have started casting my own bullets also and have had great results. After a little trial and error they shoot great and leave almost no leading in the barrel.

I think I spent around $65 for my setup. I got the Lee 20lbs production melting pot, a lee 6 cavity mold/handle, Laddel, flux, and beeswax.
    "When Government fears the people, it's liberty. When people fear the Government, it's tyranny."
    - Benjamin Franklin

Looks like the price went up some but this is the stuff I'm using:

Lee Pro 4 20 Lb Furnace 110 Volt - MidwayUSA

Lee Lead Dipper - MidwayUSA

Frankford Arsenal CleanCast Lead Fluxing Compound 1 lb - MidwayUSA

Lee 6-Cavity Bullet Mold 452-228-1R 45 ACP, 45 Auto Rim, 45 Colt (Long Colt) (452 Diameter) 228 Grain 1 Ogive Radius - MidwayUSA

And one last thing i didn't put in my last post is you may need a sizing die depending on the type of bullet lube you will use and how exact your molds are. I tumble lube and so far the bullets have either been spot on or just .001" over.

Lee Alox Bullet Lube 4 oz Liquid - MidwayUSA
    "When Government fears the people, it's liberty. When people fear the Government, it's tyranny."
    - Benjamin Franklin

5. wow thank you that pretty much explains it all. now i know what i need

Quote Originally Posted by akratzer25 View Post
    wow thank you that pretty much explains it all. now i know what i need