Shaking Hands
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Shaking Hands

handgonnetoter Guest

Shaking Hands

I shot my first handgun while I was in the Marines many years ago, but have always suffered, about 50% of the time, with hands that shake! It really raised hell with accuracy at times. I don't always have that problem and I don't think it has anything to do with getting older because I had that problem years ago when I was young and in my prime. I was a rifle range coach while in the service a couple of times because I shot expert three years in a row and am rock steady with the rifle. Does anyone else out there have this issue? Am I trying too hard or just have some strange physical problem that other people have too? Looking for some advice from some of you experienced and trained handgunners out there to find some answers. Thanks.

I've had the same problem my whole life. Some days are better than others. I find meditation and streching before shooting helps.
    and then I burst into flame

You should see how I shake, if I drink coffee before going to range!!!! Be sure you are not gripping too tight, and "I know" you have the correct breathing techniques.

handgonnetoter Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by Pokey View Post
    You should see how I shake, if I drink coffee before going to range!!!! Be sure you are not gripping too tight, and "I know" you have the correct breathing techniques.
    You know, I've never even though about breathing techniques while shooting handgun. I have pretty good dicipline while shooting rifle, but never really gave much thought to applying that too handgunning. Is the breathing the same as with the rifle?

handgonnetoter Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by desertfisch View Post
    I've had the same problem my whole life. Some days are better than others. I find meditation and streching before shooting helps.