Mech-Tech CCU (Primarily for the 1911)

Thread: Mech-Tech CCU (Primarily for the 1911)

Mech-Tech CCU (Primarily for the 1911)

Howdy! Anyone out here in Carry-land have first hand experience with the Mech-Tech CCU? I have been considering one as part of my bug-out bag, since I carry a 1911 anyway, I thought it might be a good defence acquisition. I have also heard that it (in .45 ACP) may be good for hunting game up to white tail size.

I have read numerous reviews on them and the most consistent gripe is the slide does not lock open on the last round. (I would find that a workable pain in the rear.) Any insight would be appreciated, before I drop, up to $850.00 for a fully loaded one. Thanks!
    If you can't hit it with 8, you sure as hell aren't going to hit it with 21.

A carbine conversion for a 1911? No experience with it but seems silly. Why would you do that to a perfectly good 1911? Save you're $850 and go buy yourself something else mho.

The only problem with these types of conversions is once you convert your pistol receiver to a carbine/rifle it can't be converted back to a pistol without registering it as a SBR. The only exception is Thompson/Center.
    USAF Retired, CATM, SC CWP, NH NR CWP, NRA Benefactor
    To preserve liberty, it is essential that the whole body of people always possess arms, and be taught alike, especially when young, how to use them... -- Richard Henry Lee, 1787

Quote Originally Posted by Red Hat View Post
    The only problem with these types of conversions is once you convert your pistol receiver to a carbine/rifle it can't be converted back to a pistol without registering it as a SBR. The only exception is Thompson/Center.
    Actually, the CCU is an "upper" to a 1911, or a Glock. It is a legal conversion, similar to converting a 1911 to a .22 capable pistol. I have checked with my local laws and also with the company, and the only state that disallows the conversion, is California... Go figure.