Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 1911

Question 1911

i hear a lot of talk about the 1911 so what is so good about it ? what advanage does the 1911 have over other gun's ?
    Jerry

NRA Life Member

The 1911 is the safest firearm around. With 3 safety systems in place. That being said, when cocked and locked with one in the chamber it can be deployed quickly and efficiently. I carried one as an M.P. They are bulldogs and will hold up. I have a Kimber Gold Combat 2 and a Springfield TRP. If a BG does get your gun away from you, chances are they will not know how to fire it. Giving you a chance to pull your backup weapon and put the threat down. The .45 cal. provides the best tissue damage and bleed out chances. Put them down quick and permanently.
    "The strongest reason for people to retain the right to keep and bear arms is, as a last resort, to protect themselves against tyranny in government."

4. I911s have the potential for a perfect trigger.

1911 .45 and the HI Power 9mm are two of the finest designs ( both Browning )... I love my Hi Power inspired CZ75 decocker.. I can say the CZ is nicely Balanced, very easy kick, nice tight grouping... I would love to have the knock down of the .45 in my 9mm.. Both designs have stood the test of history and time...

Many folks, including myself like the ergonomics of the platform as well as it being an inherently easy platform to shoot well.

"It's easier to avoid conflict than it is to survive it" - SGB

Balance, weight, .45 horse power, an abundance of after market custom parts and accessories, a long history of meritorious service and it comes in damned near every flavor. What else is there?