Why are some short barreled rifles legal and others not???
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Why are some short barreled rifles legal and others not???

Why are some short barreled rifles legal and others not???

Okay so its completely legal to have an AR-15 classified as a pistol, but as soon as you put a stock on it now its classified as a rifle, and must have at least a 16" barrel? You're still running the same .223 round, and i'm not an expert, but I'm sure the muzzle velocity is still incredibly high despite the 10" barrel. Still just as deadly, but set up one way can land you in prison for 5 years as a "destructive device"? The same applies for shotguns correct? I'm just wondering if these were silly laws created or if gun makers just found loopholes? I would like to see it become legal to have a stock put on your short barreled AK's, and AR's. Maybe in some states its okay but to my knowledge its still illegal in Minnesota.

Kind of goes along with a 10 round mag is ok but any more and you will be inclined to go out and shoot up the neighbor hood. If you have anything lighter than a 10 pound trigger you can't control you weapon and unintended discharges will happen more often. Anti gun crowd has to have some control to keep them happy
    "You can get a lot accomplished if you don't care who gets the credit" - Ronald Reagan

4. Quote Originally Posted by Kingfisher42223 View Post