Home defense Shotguns
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Home defense Shotguns

Home defense Shotguns

First off, great site. I'm new at this, ie forums and such so I hope I'm doing this right. I read the article on Home defense shotguns, my personal preference is the Winchester 1300 Defender with a pistol grip, the gun is only 28" in length and easy to manuver. I have it loaded alternately with OO and slugs. This is one nasty weapon.

3. http://www.usacarry.com/forums/long-...e-shotgun.html

That's a link to one of the latest threads on home defense shotguns.

Personally, I prefer buttstocks. I've found that pistol gripped shotguns are cool to look at but painful to shoot and, besides, you never know when somebody will just need a good butt stroke.

I also don't get the idea of alternating with buckshot and slugs. I do keep a couple slugs handy on my 1100 in case I need to intentionally shoot through something but they are in one of the buttstock shell carriers, not loaded in the gun. The biggest advantage of using a shotgun is the ability to throw multiple projectiles every time you pull the trigger.

I do not recommend shotguns for home protection. Although the sound scares off people, I can not tell you how many times I have seen people miss a target 7 feet away with a shotgun. Peoples adrenaline is flowing and they try to shoot from the hip or raise it to their shoulder but don't take the time to aim (yes you still have to with a shotgun) and they shoot about 2-5 feet over the target.

Quote Originally Posted by jtg452 View Post
    http://www.usacarry.com/forums/long-...e-shotgun.html

Personally, I prefer buttstocks. I've found that pistol gripped shotguns are cool to look at but painful to shoot and, besides, you never know when somebody will just need a good butt stroke.