Gander Mountain the home of the idiots
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Gander Mountain the home of the idiots

I am a resident of Virginia and my daughter will be turning 18 at the end of this week. She wants a 380 auto for her birthday. Before anybody takes a nosedive over the cliff, an 18 year old can carry a pistol openly in Virginia (state law). Now she cannot purchase a pistol from an ffl but she can purchase a pistol from a private seller. She cannot buy pistol ammunition from any store but she can from a private seller. I can buy her a pistol and give it to her as she is related to me. I am a parent and she is my daughter...that is called related by those of you that are getting ready to have a fit. Gander Mountain clerk got extremely arrogant when I approached him about the purchase. My daughter wanted to pick out the particular pistol she wanted. Gander clerk said I could not even mention her name or suggest that the gun was for an 18 year old. He could not work with me...period...if I mentioned daughter again.

I left...BTW I have spent several thousand dollars at Gander over the past 18 months...not anymore though...I went to an actual firearms shop right down the road. I asked them if they understood federal and state firearm laws. They said they did. Then you won't have a problem with me buying a pistol for my daughter who is turning 18. Just FYI I could have bought her a pistol when she was 8 years old. They said hell, no problem at all...that is called gifting. The man behind the counter said "I am 19 years old and I open carry everywhere I go". Please folks, so many damned people do not know the laws regarding firearms. Make your ffl learn the laws. If they cannot learn the laws tell them to get out of the business.