Need help with long gun choice
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Need help with long gun choice

1. Need help with long gun choice

I have a couple of rifles that were passed down from my grandfather that I have been packing around and storing for many years. When I got them out and cleaned them to take them out and shoot, I found that they donít make ammo for one of them anymore and the other is very expensive. I have a Remington Model 8 that shoots a .30 Remington cartridge and a 30-40 Krag. I also have my 30-30 Winchester that I carried on my saddle for some time. This gun is a good short range rifle but don't trust it for any distance.
    What Iím asking is opinions on a caliber that wonít break the bank and still be a good game rifle? I think it would be important that it be available in the future, if any ammo will be available in the future, (another subject altogether).
    Any feedback will be appreciated.

I'm kind of old fashioned but my favorites for most larger game found in the U.S. are .270 Winchester and .30-06 Springfield. They are still very popular cartridges, easy to find (even with today's problems), have been around for many years and are popular enough to remain in common use. They are good medium to long range cartridges and powerful enough to bring down most game in the continental U.S. In the event of a societal meltdown they can be found almost everywhere. The recoil on both cartridges is more than your .30-30 but quite tolerable for most normal sized adults. Prices very considerably for different loads but are usually in the $25 to $40 range for 20 cartridges. This is just personal opinion. I'm not an expert but I have been a hunter and gun enthusiast for over 50 years.

4. Your 30-30 is good to over 100 yd. I used one in Vt for years on deer. was told it was good for brown bear but my be not on black bear.

Need help with long gun choice

I'd look at a .308. Plenty to handle about all North America has to offer and plentiful too.