Rifle Ammo Differences

Thread: Rifle Ammo Differences

Rifle Ammo Differences

Today over lunch I took my 336 Marlin chambered in .35 Rem to the range to make sure the scope is sighted in properly. First I used some Remington Core-Lokt which has the rounded tip and after some adjustments had the scope dialed in pretty good. Then I tried some Hornandy LEVERelution with the soft pointed tip on a new target. I plan on using the Hornandy for hunting this weekend. I placed 3 shots at the bulls eye but all 3 rounds went about 3 inches to the left. Those 3 rounds were in a nice group just left of center. I then adjusted the scope and fired two rounds both of which touched the center circle around the bulls eye.

I'm fairly new to this. I grew up with guns and have always been a decent shot but never had to worry about sighting in a scope, worrying about the type of ammo or the grain. I can understand the bullets hitting above or below center but I'm baffled as to why the rifled sighted in good with the Remington would shoot left of center with the Hornandy. After my first shot went about 3 inches left of center I thought I must be doing something for it to be that far off. The second shot I made sure to focus a lot more and really get a good shot. This second bullet was almost touching the first.

Any thoughts?

Paul,