Choosing powder...
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Choosing powder...

Choosing powder...

I've been reloading for a few years, mainly rifle, but there's a question that keeps rolling around in my head. With all the different powders available, how do you narrow them down to the one that's right for your gun without buying them all? I know there's different powders for different types of guns but still, there's a lot to choose from. Any help or guidence is very much appriciated.

Hmmm...

Apparently nobody wants to put their two cents in on this???? Interesting....

Iamtheuglyamerican

I prefer Hodgdon powders and Sierra bullets. No real reason, just what I like. Hodgdon.com has an excellent interactive website that gives you all developed loads for all their powders for nearly every caliber you can think of. And it's free.

5. I'm cheap and lazy so I choose a powder that is versatile like 231/HP-38 or Unique for most of my smokeless pistol reloading because I use my reloads mostly for practice or matches. Unless I have a special circumstance, like I want to load up some heavier than normal bullet weights for hunting with a .44 Mag, I try to keep with only 1 or 2 powders and I usually buy them in 4 pound kegs. For special circumstances, I have no problem buying a pound of powder just for that one application.

6. Can you be more specfic what cal. you want to reload?
    "When plunder becomes a way of life for a group of men living together in society, they create for themselves in the course of time a legal system that authorizes it and a moral code that justifies it."Frederic Bastia

Thans for the info