Burnt powder residue on the casing
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Burnt powder residue on the casing

Burnt powder residue on the casing

I am new to reloading, and after a few batches of .45 acp, I am getting a burnt residue on the outside of my brass. What is this caused by, and is it a sign of a major problem?

I'm using:

Hodgdon HS-6
    CCI large pistol primers
    185 gr XTP and 230 gr FMJ
    various brass
    on a Dillon 550
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]In order to rally people, governments need enemies. They want us to be afraid, to hate, so we will rally behind them. And if they don't have a real enemy, they'll invent one in order to mobilize us.

3. This may see like an obvious question but are you cleaning your brass before reloading it?
    ---Cocked, Locked & Ready 2 Rock---

yes I tumble for 3 hours in a lyman vibratory cleaner, with walnut shell media.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]In order to rally people, governments need enemies. They want us to be afraid, to hate, so we will rally behind them. And if they don't have a real enemy, they'll invent one in order to mobilize us.

some powders burn cleaner than others. result you may have to clean the firearm a little more often

You might want to change your powder. Hodgdon HS-6 has a very slow burn rate. Using it in 45acp it becomes dirty because it can't produce a high enough CPU to burn all the powder. You may want to try a faster burning powder like Hodgdon TITEGROUP. I have very good results with it.

Here is a burn rate chart. HS-6 is 35 and TITEGROUP is 10 on the list. http://www.hodgdon.com/burn-rate.html
    USAF Retired, CATM, SC CWP, NH NR CWP, NRA Benefactor
    To preserve liberty, it is essential that the whole body of people always possess arms, and be taught alike, especially when young, how to use them... -- Richard Henry Lee, 1787

Thanks Red Hat, I'll switch powders and see what happens.