Kel-Tec & Ruger 380, Best Carry Weapons
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Kel-Tec & Ruger 380, Best Carry Weapons

1. Lightbulb Kel-Tec & Ruger 380, Best Carry Weapons

I'm 54 and have been collecting and shooting pistols all my life. However, it was years before I realized that if my pistol was not light enough to carry everywhere, every single day, then I didn't have the right personal protection pistol. It doesn't matter how powerful a pistol is, if you won't carry it everyday, it is a poor Personal Protection choice, because the day you need it, you won't be carrying it.

Thus, I have been carrying the Kel-Tec and Ruger 380 pistols for several years now. I'm in a location where I can shoot every day and these two conceal carry weapons are great. They have only one thing that I had to modify to greatly increase their reliability. You must fix the magazine release button

I carry the Kel-Tec & Ruger in my pockets or a rear pocket holster. What you find is that your constantly pushing the magazine back in. The magazine release button is raised enough that it gets inadvertently pushed and you must constanly push the magazine back in. Other than this, in a close up confrontation, these two pistols will serve you well if you can handle the high pressure confrontation.

It is a very simple fix. I just used my grinder to grind the magazine release button flush with the handle. I have never had an unintentional magazine release since doing so. This fix dramatically increases the reliability of this weapon.

Subject: Kel-Tec P3AT & Ruger LCP 380 Magazine Release Malfunction

Click the YouTube link below to see the video I made showing my pistol after the magazine release modification. The magazine NEVER releases accidentally any more!

YouTube - Ruger, Kel-Tec 380 Clip Malfunction

kel tec and ruger 380 semi auto

I have not had the problem you have and I have both the kel tec and ruger 380.