Differences Between P226 and P229
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Differences Between P226 and P229

1. Differences Between P226 and P229

ok guys and gals i think i finally decided on my first handgun for carry range and home defense. i am looking at the sig p229 elite. i have heard amazing things about the p226 but what are the main differences between the two? also what do you guys think of the 226 elite against the other variations.

i personally enjoy the DA/SA trigger and will be going for the .40 sw that is the caliber i am set on.

thoughts?

I'm no expert, but I think the 226 is 9mm and the 229 is .40 S&W
    Victory rewards not the army that fires the most rounds, but who is the more accurate shot. ---Unknown

The 229 comes in 9mm, 40 and 357 Sig. the main difference is the 229 is much more compact. 3.9 in. barrel compared to 4.4in Both great guns but if I were looking for one to carry I would go with the 229. You can compare the two on the following site.

SIG SAUER
    By faith Noah,being warned of God of things not seen as yet, moved with fear,prepared an ark to the saving of his house;by the which he condemned the world,and became heir of the righteousness which is by faith Heb.11:7

I have the P229R Equinox with both the .40 S&W and .357 Sig barrels. It's my favorite handgun and the one that I carry 90% of the time. It's very accurate, not hard to conceal and comfortable to wear.
    "When the outflow exceeds the inflow, the upkeep becomes the downfall"

wolfhunter Guest
    P229
    Item Number E29R-9B (9mm) E29R-40B (.40S&W) E29R-357-BSS (.357SIG)
    Caliber 9mm or .40S&W, .357SIG
    Action Type DA/SA
    Trigger Pull DA 10.0 lbs
    Trigger Pull SA 4.4 lbs
    Overall Length 7.1 in
    Overall Height 5.4 in
    Overall Width 1.5 in
    Barrel Length 3.9 in
    Sight Radius 5.7 in
    Weight w/Mag 32.0 oz
    Mag Capacity 10 or 13 Rounds (9mm), 10 or 12 Rounds (.40S&W, .357SIG)
    Sights Contrast, SIGLITE® Night Sights available