Idaho CCW Training Question
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35

Thread: Idaho CCW Training Question

  1. Idaho CCW Training Question

    I am currently a NV resident but will more then likely be moving to Idaho in the next 6 months or so (Kootenai Co to be specific).

    I am curious about the training requirement that they have for the CCW in ID.

    I have a NV CCW permit, have taken the required NV CCW courses as well as 5 or 6 additional, non-required courses including multiple courses at FrontSite in NV.

    Would this meet the requirement or do classes have to be taken in ID?

    Would be great if I can just show them proof of these classes and get the permit ASAP...though I guess I understand if they want me to take a class from an ID instructor.

    Thanks!

  2.   
  3. Apply to the Sheriff. You can fill out application and do everything right there. You must have your Photo ID and proof of Ptraining. Some Sheriff’s offices provide the training. Check with your local Sheriff.

    Cost is $20.00 by law and the Permit/License is valid for 5 years.
    Material costs, Fingerprint and Background check fees can be added.

    18-3302. Issuance Of Licenses To Carry Concealed Weapons.

    (1) The sheriff of a county, on behalf of the state of Idaho, shall, within ninety (90) days after the filing of an application by any person who is not disqualified from possessing or receiving a firearm under state or federal law, issue a license to the person to carry a weapon concealed on his person within this state. For licenses issued before July 1, 2006, a license shall be valid for four (4) years from the date of issue. For licenses issued on or after July 1, 2006, a license shall be valid for five (5) years from the date of issue. The citizen’s constitutional right to bear arms shall not be denied to him, unless he:
    (a) Is ineligible to own, possess or receive a firearm under the provisions of state or federal law; or
    (b) Is formally charged with a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one (1) year; or
    (c) Has been adjudicated guilty in any court of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one (1) year; or
    (d) Is a fugitive from justice; or
    (e) Is an unlawful user of, or addicted to, marijuana or any depressant, stimulant, or narcotic drug, or any other controlled substance as defined in 21 U.S.C. 802; or
    (f) Is currently suffering or has been adjudicated as follows, based on substantial evidence:
    (i) Lacking mental capacity as defined in section 18-210, Idaho Code; or
    (ii) Mentally ill as defined in section 66-317, Idaho Code; or
    (iii) Gravely disabled as defined in section 66-317, Idaho Code; or
    (iv) An incapacitated person as defined in section 15-5-101(a), Idaho Code; or
    (g) Is or has been discharged from the armed forces under dishonorable conditions; or
    (h) Is or has been adjudicated guilty of or received a withheld judgment or suspended sentence for one (1) or more crimes of violence constituting a misdemeanor, unless three (3) years has elapsed since disposition or pardon has occurred prior to the date on which the application is submitted; or
    (i) Has had entry of a withheld judgment for a criminal offense which would disqualify him from obtaining a concealed weapon license; or
    (j) Is an alien illegally in the United States; or
    (k) Is a person who having been a citizen of the United States, has renounced his or her citizenship; or
    (l) Is under twenty-one (21) years of age; or
    (m) Is free on bond or personal recognizance pending trial, appeal or sentencing for a crime which would disqualify him from obtaining a concealed weapon license; or
    (n) Is subject to a protection order issued under chapter 63, title 39, Idaho Code, that restrains the person from harassing, stalking or threatening an intimate partner of the person or child of the intimate partner or person, or engaging in other conduct that would place an intimate partner in reasonable fear of bodily injury to the partner or child. The license application shall be in triplicate, in a form to be prescribed by the director of the Idaho state police, and shall ask the name, address, description and signature of the licensee, date of birth, social security number, military status, and the driver’s license number or state identification card number of the licensee if used for identification in applying for the license. The application shall indicate that provision of the social
    security number is optional.

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Twin Falls, Idaho
    Posts
    292
    There is no formal training requirement in Idaho. All it says is you must show that you have a familiarity with guns. This can be anything from military service, being a member of a shooting club, a letter of recommendation from someone the sheriff knows, to a formal class. Your Nevada permit should be quite sufficient. YOU WILL LIKE IDAHO!!! Also there is no live fire requirement as in Nevada.
    Good Luck!!!
    John
    http://www.packing4life.com

  5. That is how I read it but thanks for the clarification (exactly what I was looking for)!!!

    I don't mind the live fire that NV has, I always pass with no problems as it's not that hard. In some ways it is comforting to also know that if someone can legally carry that they at least know how to use the gun at a basic level.

    My biggest problem with it is that it is a PITA. Buy a new gun, pay a licensed instructor to watch you shoot. Take the paperwork to the CCW office, pay them to add the weapon to the CCW, etc. Just takes more time then I usually want to spend and adds $40 or $50 to the cost of every gun as you know I am putting them all on the CCW.

    Since ID has no registration, and since ID has no live fire requirement does that mean that the CCW allows you to carry any weapon (legal) concealed?

    Like in NV if I buy a new gun I can't start carrying until I do the live fire, turn in the paperwork and get my new permit listing that firearm, (about 30 days). But it sounds like in ID the CCW covers all of your handguns (i.e. walk out of the store, stick it in a holster and you are legally covered by your CCW), is that true?

    Thanks!

  6. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Panhandle, Idaho
    Posts
    279
    One thing to know about the Panhandle. We are right next to Washington which does not recognize Idaho's permit. However, Idaho does recognize Washington's.


    You can certainly get a permit in both states but you really only need the one from Washington for this area (as was explained to me by the Kootenai Sheriff's office). If you plan to carry in Spokane Valley or Spokane as well as Idaho, apply for a non-resident Washington permit. It runs about $60 and is good for 5 years, and no formal training is required. You can get it at the Spokane Valley PD or Spokane PD. This way you can carry across the border.


    Idaho actually accepts permits from all other states so your Nevada permit allows you to carry, unless it is voided by you becoming a resident of Idaho. I don't know about that. Unfortunately Washington accepts permits from very few other states, hence the need to get theirs.


    Either the Washington or Idaho permit allows any number of handguns to be concealed without the need for them to be separately listed.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Twin Falls, Idaho
    Posts
    292
    Although it may not be necessary, I think you should always have a permit of your residency. If you got a Washington permit you might be OK in Idaho, but there are states that honor only resident permits or if they honor a non resident permit still expect you to have a permit from where you live. Not having a resident permit makes it appear you might be disqualified for some reason in your home state. My recommendation would be to get an Idaho permit then supplement it with a Utah permit. That would cover you in Washington then convert your Nevada to a non resident. That would give you Max coverage for this part of the country as well as many other parts of the country.

    Good Luck!!!
    Good Luck!!!
    John
    http://www.packing4life.com

  8. #7
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Panhandle, Idaho
    Posts
    279
    Quote Originally Posted by astute View Post
    Although it may not be necessary, I think you should always have a permit of your residency. If you got a Washington permit you might be OK in Idaho, but there are states that honor only resident permits or if they honor a non resident permit still expect you to have a permit from where you live. Not having a resident permit makes it appear you might be disqualified for some reason in your home state. My recommendation would be to get an Idaho permit then supplement it with a Utah permit. That would cover you in Washington then convert your Nevada to a non resident. That would give you Max coverage for this part of the country as well as many other parts of the country.

    Good Luck!!!


    Sure you could get a Utah permit, but just for Northern Idaho most people don't have them up here. Perhaps that makes more sense for folks down south. Just informing about how most people in the Panhandle do it the fastest and with least expense.




    Having a Washington non-resident is perfectly legal (as much as Utah permit!) and covers you in both states, as well as Montana which are the three states that we drive in most of the time.

  9. #8

    training requirements in ID

    When I got my Idaho permit in 1996, I listed hunter safety and having had a permit in another state (which required no training) and that was accepted.

    I'd get the ID resident permit since it'll get you reciprocity w/ CO and WY should you travel to those states. Adding the non-resident WA or UT permit would be a good way to go.

  10. #9
    vbilly,


    Like in NV if I buy a new gun I can't start carrying until I do the live fire, turn in the paperwork and get my new permit listing that firearm, (about 30 days). But it sounds like in ID the CCW covers all of your handguns (i.e. walk out of the store, stick it in a holster and you are legally covered by your CCW), is that true?

    Yes, in Idaho you're legal with any handgun you carry, unlike NV where you must get "certified" for each one you carry and have t listed on our CCW. Also, your Idaho CCW isn't valid in NV, so you'll want to make sure you can keep a valid NV CCW if you plan to travel there or a ccw from a state that has reciprocity wth NV.

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    North Idaho
    Posts
    265
    vbilly,

    I am a fellow Panhanlder and opted to get my Idaho as well as my Washnington permits. Kootenai County SO was painless and I got the permit in about three weeks...my renewal is coming up soon and I will update the post if that timeline has grown longer. For Washington, Spokane Valley PD no longer handles the permits as indicated above, so you will need to journey in to downtown Spokane to apply.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Quantcast