Is there a "grace" period once you've filed for a renewal of your CWP?
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Is there a "grace" period once you've filed for a renewal of your CWP?

  1. #1

    Is there a "grace" period once you've filed for a renewal of your CWP?

    Okay, I tried the search function with no luck. So here's the question:
    Presumming you go to the sheriff and submit the renewal paperwork before your CWP expires is it still good or can you not "legally" carry until the letter comes back from the sheriff and you go in for a new photo and temp CWP?

    Thanks in advance

  2.   
  3. #2
    Statutes

    I don't see any grace period for concealing a firearm in that statute. I only see a grace period for the renewal late fee. You can apply for a renewal 90 days before it expires, and they are required to approve the application within 30 days, so I don't see a need for a grace period.
    Anyone who says, "I support the 2nd amendment, BUT"... doesn't. Element of Surprise: a mythical element that many believe has the same affect upon criminals that Kryptonite has upon Superman.

  4. Depends on you're state. Here in Maine as long as you're application is stamped received before the expiration date it is valid until/ unless a denial letter is received or the new permit arrives.

  5. #4
    SC, MI, and UT all require you stay up to date. If you don't submit your renewal early enough to get the new license before the old one expires, you're SOL.
    No statement should be believed because it is made by an authority.
    Robert A. Heinlein

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    South Carolina/Charleston
    Posts
    2,388
    Quote Originally Posted by NavyLCDR View Post
    Statutes

    I don't see any grace period for concealing a firearm in that statute. I only see a grace period for the renewal late fee. You can apply for a renewal 90 days before it expires, and they are required to approve the application within 30 days, so I don't see a need for a grace period.
    I am no expert on all the states' laws but common sense (lots of luck these days in this asylum, formerly known as the USA and run by its inmates) says that if you can only apply (at least in SC) within 90 days of expiration and the state delays, it is on them and not you. You have done your due diligence and have proof (even a credit receipt if done on internet) of fee payment it would seem you have followed your requirements in a responsible manner and should have no problem. Now if you reapply within a day of your expiration or something unrealistic--maybe you could have a problem--who is to say you will not get "hassled" by an LEO when you are required to show him your expired CCWP and have no proof that "it is in the mail".

  7. #6
    when did common sense ever have anything to do with the law?
    No statement should be believed because it is made by an authority.
    Robert A. Heinlein

  8. #7
    Today while at the range I asked one of the CWP instructors and he basically said based on his discussions with the sheriff's office they consider it expired whether you renew 90 or 9 days prior. So if you do NOT have a temporary or new CWP you are SOL.

    THANKS for everone's replies!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Quantcast