Stacking 4hr Illinois Ccw classes.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Stacking 4hr Illinois Ccw classes.

  1. Stacking 4hr Illinois Ccw classes.

    Has anyone received in writing that students can use more than one 4 hr class? I have instructors stating that you can only use one four hour previous training class. Only eight hour exemption would be the classes that are rated for eight hours. No four hour classes are approved,so students must take the full sixteen hours.

  2.   
  3. Sixteen hours! Holy macaroni with cheese! And I complained about Oregon's 4hr requirement.

  4. #3
    Here's the list of accepted training credits. http://www.isp.state.il.us/firearms/...ningCredit.pdf
    You're correct there are no 4 hr classes. I suspect that's because of the requirement for attendance in the federal and state law segment (4hrs) as well as the firearms training/qualification (4hrs). I'ts up to the individual instructor how they schedule and format their classes.
    Hi-Caliber Training & Tactics
    "Let us speak courteously, deal fairly, and keep ourselves armed and ready."- Theodore Roosevelt

  5. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by Foxtail View Post
    Has anyone received in writing that students can use more than one 4 hr class? I have instructors stating that you can only use one four hour previous training class. Only eight hour exemption would be the classes that are rated for eight hours. No four hour classes are approved,so students must take the full sixteen hours.
    The eight hour credit for military (active, reserve, or retired with honorable discharge), is the only credit that is written as being mandatory. All other credits must be on the state approved list, and, they are at the discretion of the instructor. You might have multiple CCW permits, maybe, even an NRA instructor qual, but, depending on the Illinois CCW instructor, he may or may not give you credit for any of it.

    I spoke to the State Police about the confusion in their guidelines. The only thing written about mandatory minimum training, are those posted by Grizzer. Nothing is written about a limit of prior training credit. They're suggestion, was to shop around for your instructor. I have been doing just that.

    Last week, I found an instructor who only allows the military credit, if the person's DD214 specifically lists a firearm qualification. The law says, the credit shall be given, if the DD214 says the person was honorably discharged. My DD214 does list special firearms quals, but, that instructor will not be getting my business.

  6. #5
    It's a mess. There are instructors that aren't even giving credit for the DD214s. For the DD214 credit the law reads
    The Department shall accept 8 hours of training as
    completed toward the 16 hour training requirement under this Section, if the applicant is an active, retired, or honorably discharged member of the United States Armed Forces.
    and for other training credit
    The Department and certified firearms instructor shall recognize up to 8 hours of training already completed toward the 16 hour training requirement under this Section if the training course is approved by the Department and recognized under the laws of another state. Any remaining hours that the applicant completes must at least cover the classroom subject matter of paragraph (4) of subsection (b) of this Section, and the range qualification in subsection (c) of this Section.
    Why they made the wording different is beyond me and ISP is interpreting the law the way they like. At least until they get called to account. Luckily the instructors who aren't accepting DD214s and prior training credits are the minority.
    Hi-Caliber Training & Tactics
    "Let us speak courteously, deal fairly, and keep ourselves armed and ready."- Theodore Roosevelt

  7. I just did my training and the guys just had me take the 8 hours(I have Florida and Utah)
    They have 4,8, 12 and 16 hour courses. I paid $100 for the 8 hours.
    I won't put their name here but if you are interested pm me

    Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk

  8. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by paulgl26 View Post
    I just did my training and the guys just had me take the 8 hours(I have Florida and Utah)
    They have 4,8, 12 and 16 hour courses. I paid $100 for the 8 hours.
    I won't put their name here but if you are interested pm me
    Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk
    I think either you or the instructor is mistaken. The only ISP approved classes are 16 and 8 hour for CCW and 3 hour renewal. You can check your instructor here http://www.isp.state.il.us/firearms/...Curriculum.pdf
    Hi-Caliber Training & Tactics
    "Let us speak courteously, deal fairly, and keep ourselves armed and ready."- Theodore Roosevelt

  9. #8
    Students may stack up to 8 hours, meaning they may stack previous 2 classes, if these classes are approved. Still trying to get confirmation if students can take a 4 or 12 hour class for those who have 4 hours of credit. State says sure but won't approve a curriculum unless 8 or 16 hours.

    Grizzerr, wrong link. Check this one: http://www.isp.state.il.us/firearms/...ningCredit.pdf
    -Thomas
    Member, ISRA; NRA Life Member & Instructor; AGI Certified Gunsmith, Illinois Concealed Carry Instructor www.alphakoncepts.com www.gunrights4illinois.com @AlphaKoncepts

  10. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by chicagogunsmith View Post
    Students may stack up to 8 hours, meaning they may stack previous 2 classes, if these classes are approved. Still trying to get confirmation if students can take a 4 or 12 hour class for those who have 4 hours of credit. State says sure but won't approve a curriculum unless 8 or 16 hours.

    Grizzerr, wrong link. Check this one: http://www.isp.state.il.us/firearms/...ningCredit.pdf
    Not sure what is wrong. That's the same link I had in post #3
    Hi-Caliber Training & Tactics
    "Let us speak courteously, deal fairly, and keep ourselves armed and ready."- Theodore Roosevelt

  11. #10
    I was replying to post 7, not 3.

    The form does show 4 hour credits would be given for various classes such as CFP, Utah, Florida, Nevada etc... Now that I re-read, I think I may have originally misread your post #7 to say that 4 hours wouldn't count. But like I said now that I re-read I am seeing something different. 13 hours straight staring at the computer will do that to you.
    -Thomas
    Member, ISRA; NRA Life Member & Instructor; AGI Certified Gunsmith, Illinois Concealed Carry Instructor www.alphakoncepts.com www.gunrights4illinois.com @AlphaKoncepts

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Quantcast